Buttermilk Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Add 3 T. lemon juice, some cayenne, 1/2 c. minced sweet onion, and a bit of powdered garlic to make it more tangy, but that's just my taste. My favorite go-to coleslaw recipe now. I used a 3-pound bag of roughly cut coleslaw (as opposed to the very finely chopped kind) I bought from a large, national club store (Sam's) and the recipe was still very creamy and the slaw was well covered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Made it exactly as written. It was okay, but the buttermilk taste seemed to really overpower the slaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
This is great coleslaw dressing for those who don't like a sweet dressing. I added about 1/4 cup rice vinegar for a little tang, and it turned out perfect. Many rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kingman, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I used real Mayonaise for this recipe and let it sit overnight. Made as is, this recipe is a little bland for my taste. However, when I added 1 tablespoon vinegar and 1/4 teaspoon salt, it gave it a little more "perk" and my family devoured it. Even my 7 and 11 year olds declared called it "that yummy salad" and asked for seconds. The four stars is for "as is". A good starting point, but not a five star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Just made this. The only thing I did was cut it in half. This is the best coleslaw ever. I was going to add apple to it but it didn't need a thing. This is a beautifully simple recipe that tastes great. I didn't think it was too soupy or too dry. Seemed just right to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Didn't have buttermilk so I did the milk/vinegar thing and it added a little kick. Also didn't have any celery seed so I can't say whether that added anything to the results or not. Down here in northwest Georgia, we don't put sugar in our coleslaw (or cornbread for that matter) but the whole thing definitely tasted really good vs. plain ol' mayo and salt n' pepper like my mamma used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Easy to prepare with a signature restaurant taste. Added a little Crystal hot sauce for some zip and color. Would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trixie61

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I have never made coleslaw before but had an idea of the taste I was looking to achieve. This was absolutely perfect and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I cut this in half. I use 1/2 cup mayo, 1/4 cup miracle whip, 1/4 cup sour cream. I increase the sugar to 3 TBS. I use celery salt instead of celery seed, and most importantly I add vinegar to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marshall, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
I was so worried after reading reviews it would be soupy SO I made the sauce 1st in its own bowl and slowly added to my 24 oz bag of slaw..... It was perfect!!! I did as others suggested: used celery salt in lieu of seeds, added juice of 1 lemon and 2 caps of vinager! YUMO
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Shade, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Ramen Coleslaw

A crunchy coleslaw with ramen and cabbage in a tangy vinegar dressing.

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States