Buttermilk Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
Great tangy flavor with the buttermilk. I used Splenda instead of sugar and added golden raisins and diced apples. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
We make it with french mayo and sriracha. NOMNOMNOM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lunargecko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
Love this recipe!!! It's quick & easy to make. If you finely chop the cabbage it makes a great topping for a chili dog, mmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
This was really good. I liked the addition of the celery seed. I did think it was a bit sweet tho... next time I will decrease the sugar a bit. But it was excellent and very easy. I did not have buttermilk but did the 'vinegar and milk" substitution and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Schoeb Boersma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Olive, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Add 3 T. lemon juice, some cayenne, 1/2 c. minced sweet onion, and a bit of powdered garlic to make it more tangy, but that's just my taste. My favorite go-to coleslaw recipe now. I used a 3-pound bag of roughly cut coleslaw (as opposed to the very finely chopped kind) I bought from a large, national club store (Sam's) and the recipe was still very creamy and the slaw was well covered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Made it exactly as written. It was okay, but the buttermilk taste seemed to really overpower the slaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
This is great coleslaw dressing for those who don't like a sweet dressing. I added about 1/4 cup rice vinegar for a little tang, and it turned out perfect. Many rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kingman, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I used real Mayonaise for this recipe and let it sit overnight. Made as is, this recipe is a little bland for my taste. However, when I added 1 tablespoon vinegar and 1/4 teaspoon salt, it gave it a little more "perk" and my family devoured it. Even my 7 and 11 year olds declared called it "that yummy salad" and asked for seconds. The four stars is for "as is". A good starting point, but not a five star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Just made this. The only thing I did was cut it in half. This is the best coleslaw ever. I was going to add apple to it but it didn't need a thing. This is a beautifully simple recipe that tastes great. I didn't think it was too soupy or too dry. Seemed just right to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Didn't have buttermilk so I did the milk/vinegar thing and it added a little kick. Also didn't have any celery seed so I can't say whether that added anything to the results or not. Down here in northwest Georgia, we don't put sugar in our coleslaw (or cornbread for that matter) but the whole thing definitely tasted really good vs. plain ol' mayo and salt n' pepper like my mamma used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Restaurant-Style Coleslaw I

A creamy, sweet-tart salad that tastes like a popular chicken restaurant’s slaw.

Ramen Coleslaw

A crunchy coleslaw with ramen and cabbage in a tangy vinegar dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States