Buttermilk Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
This makes a pretty sweet slaw. My entire family enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
Nice, basic coleslaw recipe. Good with BBQ Chicken Sandwiches recipe on this site. I did add a couple teaspoons of vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
Fantastic and easy. I make it ahead and it keeps in the fridge for weeks. My kids love it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inthepink
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
Yum!I did the milk and vinegar thing to make the buttermilk and did half the recipe. Came out fantastic. Thanks for the good base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
This is a great base recipe. I added in a tablespoon of minced onion, a capful of apple cider vinegar, and I shredded a few baby carrots I had on hand. It was very creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
Entire family loved this coleslaw, and my son and husband generally don't like it....I doubled the salt and pepper, added some fresh minced garlic, dill, paprika and cayenne and omitted celery seed as I didn't have any. Was truly fantastic! Next time will add some hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amjoy373

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
Great recipe - very creamy. I added some chopped onion and chopped sweet bell pepper, which gave it a nice color
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Something to consider - to make buttermilk, you add a little bit of vinegar to regular milk. So you could use milk and vinegar in place of the buttermilk. Voila!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuvBaja

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
This was definitely missing spice. My sister makes an amazing coleslaw and I know she adds a ton of celery seed. This is a good recipe it just needs to be tweeked to get the right taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New City, New York, USA
Living In: Islip, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
Wow, this hasn't had a chance to sit yet but already I can tell it's fantastic. I "eyeballed" the ingredients, used all listed in the official recipe but I'm pretty sure I used less of most than called for because I don't care for super wet salads/slaws plus also equals less fat & calories. Less mayo, less buttermilk, less sugar, less celery seed to one 16 oz. bag of preshredded mix. I added a couple tablespoons of minced red onion, a couple good pinches of sea salt, a pinch of cayenne pepper, lots of fresh ground black pepper (I bet white pepper would be great but I don't have it), large squeeze of juice from a lemon and large jigger of white wine vinegar. I can hardly wait an hour to taste this again but will somehow keep myself away from the fridge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Ramen Coleslaw

A crunchy coleslaw with ramen and cabbage in a tangy vinegar dressing.

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States