Buttermilk Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Made the recipe as is. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I made a half recipe of this. Because I'm low on mayonnaise, I used half reduced fat mayonnaise/half reduced fat sour cream. I added a few personal touches (garlic powder, onion powder, chopped green onion). Quite good and GREAT as a quick side for our Take-Out Fake-Out Southern Dinner as we cannot afford our favorite take out chicken place. The leftovers for this are going on ham sandwiches for lunch tomorrow for the boys!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Very good coleslaw - a perfect accompaniment to bbq dishes or fried chicken! I cut the recipe in half as this makes a lot. I changed the dressing up a bit though. I thought 1 cup of mayo was a bit much, so I used a mix of 1/4 cup of Hellman's lite mayo, 1/4 cup of lite Miracle whip, and 1/4 cup of reduced fat sour cream along with the buttermilk. I like a sweeter coleslaw of I upped the sugar to 1/4 cup. I also added 3/4 tsp. seasoned salt, 1/2 tsp. ground mustard, 1/4 tsp. celery salt vs. using celery seed plus the additional black pepper. I let this set in the fridge for a few hours and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Delicious!!!! Added much more sugar and raisens too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Island Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This was pretty good. I do think that it may need just a pinch of salt in the dressing, though. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
i got all this coleslaw in my fridge and i cant eat it. it is missing something!! I cant put my finger on it because i have never made slaw before but eat it alot. It was just bland and now it sits with soppy juice in it. I will not make it again. I hate giving bad reviews but i wouldnt be truthful if i did otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candy_rose_25

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
This is my family's favorite coleslaw recipe. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Watertown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
This coleslaw recipe tastes just like my Grandma Lowe's. It's better than some restraunt coleslaws I've tried. I'm makeing this for one of our Easter sides this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Good basic slaw. I added salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by www.changeofsceneweddings.com

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lockport, Illinois, USA
Living In: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
EH... ok. Mine came out VERY soupy, with not much flavor. I added salt and lemon juice just to make it edible, and it still wasn't that great. There are better recipes out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Restaurant-Style Coleslaw I

A creamy, sweet-tart salad that tastes like a popular chicken restaurant’s slaw.

Ramen Coleslaw

A crunchy coleslaw with ramen and cabbage in a tangy vinegar dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States