Buttermilk Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
This is soooo YUMMY!! by far, the best coleslaw I've had! I didn't have celery seed, so I used celery salt. After reading thru other reviews, some called for adding vinegar, I had cider vinegar on hand and added bout a tble spoon. That added just the perfect zip it needed! Will def make again!! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spencer, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
I didnt have buttermilk so I had to substitute 1 C sour cream and also didnt have celery seed so did without. This was very delicious and creamy, then I added dried cranberries and it took it over the top! Made it with grandmas salmon patties also fr this site. Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Family really enjoyed this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I tried this recipe and LOVE it. It is husband approved also. haha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
This is good, but a bit too much mayo/milk that next time I'll cut back on both
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mari

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
I made this with a few changes. I used only 1 C of mayo and I added about 1/4 C of white vinegar omitted the celery seed - a personal preference as I don't care for it and I added salt to taste. If I had had white pepper I would have used that instead of the black. I really liked it, I never thought of using buttermilk in coleslaw and it really gave it a delicious taste. I also think the longer this sits the better it will taste. Thanks for this easy yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Good way to use up extra buttermilk. Definitely add more sugar than called for...and I recommend using all mayo, as written. I used some mayo, some sour cream and it just didn't work as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MyLauraLee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
only change I make is to add a bit of spicy mustard, garlic salt and some franks red hot. I also make my own buttermilk (1 c milk + 1 tbsp vinegar). Love, love, love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
My wife tried this recipe and it was the worst. She is an excellent cook and this has to be the first thing she's made in years I couldn't eat. Would definately NOT recommend this, this isn't what coleslaw is supposed to taste like
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
This was not good at all. It tasted too much like buttermilk. Will not make again. I followed the directions exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Meredith Jensen
Home Town: Underwood, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Restaurant-Style Coleslaw I

A creamy, sweet-tart salad that tastes like a popular chicken restaurant’s slaw.

Ramen Coleslaw

A crunchy coleslaw with ramen and cabbage in a tangy vinegar dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States