Buttermilk Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
I was so worried after reading reviews it would be soupy SO I made the sauce 1st in its own bowl and slowly added to my 24 oz bag of slaw..... It was perfect!!! I did as others suggested: used celery salt in lieu of seeds, added juice of 1 lemon and 2 caps of vinager! YUMO
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Shade, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
My family actually loved the end result, but I made significant enough changes can't really give it 5 stars. I eyeballed amounts but the big difference was I used natural yogurt instead of buttermilk (added a bit of milk to the yogurt just to thin it down a bit) and probably used equal amounts of mayo/yogurt. A bit less surgar, and a tablespoon or so of lemon juice. Celery salt instead of seed and green onions. Makes a lot o dressing but will keep. End result was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
WOW! This is now my go to coleslaw recipe! Amazing flavor! Added in the lemon juice but not the hot sauce and it is so good! The buttermilk is such a great idea and added the perfect amount of zing! So good! So happy! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
I just made this and although I know it will be better after sitting a bit, I am loving a big bowl now! I substituted splenda for the sugar, and used milk with vinegar for the buttermilk. I also shredded my veggies by hand, it tastes much fresher!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Hoffecker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Methuen, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Loved it! The hotsauce kicked it up which is a favorite in my house. I didn't have celery seed so instead I sliced up some celery and it worked out great! This recipie is quick and easy which is a must in my kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
I used powdered buttermilk. I didn't have celery seed, so I used Dill seed that I briused in the mortar. I did add a hearty spoon of sea salt and a fine grated carrot to my own fresh cabbage. I used stevia in place of sugar. I added some white wine vinagar, too, in place of lemon juice. Will make this again,the clan here loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
This was DELICIOUS! I left out the celery seed as I don't use it in anything. Everyone loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Just made this coleslaw recipe to go along with fried catfish. Delicious! I like the idea of adding a little hot sauce for some "zing" to the coleslaw and next time I will but it was excellent as is. I cut the recipe in half for the 3 of us and there was plenty of dressing left over to make more tomorrow. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockhart, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
This is soooo YUMMY!! by far, the best coleslaw I've had! I didn't have celery seed, so I used celery salt. After reading thru other reviews, some called for adding vinegar, I had cider vinegar on hand and added bout a tble spoon. That added just the perfect zip it needed! Will def make again!! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spencer, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
I didnt have buttermilk so I had to substitute 1 C sour cream and also didnt have celery seed so did without. This was very delicious and creamy, then I added dried cranberries and it took it over the top! Made it with grandmas salmon patties also fr this site. Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Restaurant-Style Coleslaw I

A creamy, sweet-tart salad that tastes like a popular chicken restaurant’s slaw.

Ramen Coleslaw

A crunchy coleslaw with ramen and cabbage in a tangy vinegar dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States