Buttermilk Coconut Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2001
Very good recipe and a great way to get rid of extra buttermilk! I wouldn't call these "coconut bars" though - to me, it was more of a spice cake. Mine baked in 30 minutes (even at 350 with an oven thermometer), so I'd recommend watching the baking time. I omitted the glaze and it was just fine. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2004
These were wonderful and made EVEN BETTER with a layer of chocolate chips between the crust and the cake! I doubled the coconut and omitted the glaze also. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2002
These were awesome! I will definitely make them again. I made a few small changes - I reduced white sugar to 1 cup, omitted walnuts and used 3/4 cup coconut instead, and omitted glaze. Unless you don't like coconut I can't imagine anyone not liking this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
I really enjoyed this. It's more of a coffee cake / crumb cake dessert rather than a bar. I used a little more coconut and did add some Cream of Coconut to the egg mixture. Good for brunch or an after school snack. Hmmm..I think I'm gonna get me a tall glass of milk. Thanks Vanessa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2004
Great! A previous reviewer was disappointed that there wasn't more of a coconut taste. So I deleted the nuts and doubled the amount of coconut. I toasted the coconut while I preheated the oven. Mmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
these bars are great!!! if coconut is your thing, then add some to the batter. the bottom crust is super buttery good and can be used for may other layered bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by threedels

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
Good recipe to bring for a crowd. It has a good basic cake/bar flavor that will probably be liked by all. Next time - I might add a drop of almond extract to the glaze before frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
Deelicious! This receipe is wonderful but just a little too sweet. I subtracted 1/4 cup of white sugar and 1/4 cup of packed brown sugar and use 1 cup of coconut flakes instead. This recipe is another hit from all recipes and it is sure to stay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2003
This recipe was easy and fun to prepare. It came out of the oven looking wonderful. I was very disappointed in the taste. You can taste neither the buttermilk nor the coconut. The primary flavor in cinnamon. If I'm going to eat this many calories, I want it to have a terrific taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TopDog

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scappoose, Oregon, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2000
This is a spice cake baked on a crust, basically, and I didn't think the two parts belonged together. No one thought it was a cookie, they thought it was a cake. It was disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States