Buttermilk Coconut Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2004
These were wonderful and made EVEN BETTER with a layer of chocolate chips between the crust and the cake! I doubled the coconut and omitted the glaze also. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2004
Great! A previous reviewer was disappointed that there wasn't more of a coconut taste. So I deleted the nuts and doubled the amount of coconut. I toasted the coconut while I preheated the oven. Mmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2003
This recipe was easy and fun to prepare. It came out of the oven looking wonderful. I was very disappointed in the taste. You can taste neither the buttermilk nor the coconut. The primary flavor in cinnamon. If I'm going to eat this many calories, I want it to have a terrific taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TopDog

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scappoose, Oregon, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2003
These bars are absolutely delicious! One fun thing you can do with them is double the recipie for the crust and skip the top layer. Those are delicious by themselves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2003
This is like spice cake with a cookie crust. A very good recipe made from ingredients usually on hand. A great "anyday" treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
This was so easy and so good. They did'nt last very long in my house. I too would omit the glaze in the future. Definetly a keeper. Kim
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
I really enjoyed this. It's more of a coffee cake / crumb cake dessert rather than a bar. I used a little more coconut and did add some Cream of Coconut to the egg mixture. Good for brunch or an after school snack. Hmmm..I think I'm gonna get me a tall glass of milk. Thanks Vanessa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
Very good -- sweet with a little bit of spice. I omitted the glaze -- don't think it's needed. I agree with previous reviewer who said it's really a cake on top of a crust. Kind of an odd combination but . . . tastes wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Paoli, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2002
These were awesome! I will definitely make them again. I made a few small changes - I reduced white sugar to 1 cup, omitted walnuts and used 3/4 cup coconut instead, and omitted glaze. Unless you don't like coconut I can't imagine anyone not liking this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2002
i MADE THESE AND TOOK THEM TO WORK FOR EVERYONE TO TRY. tHEY ALL LOVED THEM AND ASKED FOR THE RECIPE. tHE CRUST REALLY MAKES THEM SPECIAL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States