Buttermilk Coconut Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Fantastic way to use extra buttermilk, which was exactly what I was looking to do. The only thing I had to run out and buy was coconut, and I subbed the walnuts for pecans, since that's what I had. Delicious! I took some of the other reviewers' advice and doubled the coconut and switched the sugar to 3/4c white sugar and 1c brown. I think I will reduce the sugar by another 1/4 cup next time as it was still a bit sweet, especially with the powdered sugar glaze. Also, the crust was just a touch too dry--probably due to the increased coconut--so maybe more butter on the next go round. And I'm definitely going to experiment with some sort of pineapple glaze next time...mmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
I was very skeptical of this, even as I made it; I just needed to use up some buttermilk. This is a fantastic recipe. Makes a delicious bar (mine did turn out bar-like). Had no walnuts so doubled coconut. Might skip the glaze next time- on the sweet side, but also keeps it very moist. These are disappearing very quickly from the kitchen. Don't let plain looks or sound of it dissuade you- this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
Deelicious! This receipe is wonderful but just a little too sweet. I subtracted 1/4 cup of white sugar and 1/4 cup of packed brown sugar and use 1 cup of coconut flakes instead. This recipe is another hit from all recipes and it is sure to stay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
A tasty way to use some extra buttermilk but my mouth was confused. I firmly pressed the crumb-cake portion into the pan which made for a very dense, hard cookie-like bottom while the top was a fluffy cake. Next time I'll not press the crumbs in as firm to try and achieve more of a crumb cake texture as some reviewers suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
These simple bar cookies are wonderful. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
these bars are great!!! if coconut is your thing, then add some to the batter. the bottom crust is super buttery good and can be used for may other layered bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by threedels

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
These were so tasty! I added some mini chocolate chips and raisins, as well as sprinkled some coconut on top while it was baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manlius, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
I added some chopped some chopped cranberries to offset the sugary taste and they were yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foosha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
Much better with chocolate chips. Got kind of "gooy" on top and crunchy on the bottom. Not dessert, more like breakfast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari Evans Ryan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Brownell, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
Coconut bars tasted wonderful, I must have made them slightly different when I made a second batch, but they turned out to be a crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States