Buttermilk Coconut Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
A tasty way to use some extra buttermilk but my mouth was confused. I firmly pressed the crumb-cake portion into the pan which made for a very dense, hard cookie-like bottom while the top was a fluffy cake. Next time I'll not press the crumbs in as firm to try and achieve more of a crumb cake texture as some reviewers suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
These simple bar cookies are wonderful. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
these bars are great!!! if coconut is your thing, then add some to the batter. the bottom crust is super buttery good and can be used for may other layered bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by threedels

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
These were so tasty! I added some mini chocolate chips and raisins, as well as sprinkled some coconut on top while it was baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manlius, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
I added some chopped some chopped cranberries to offset the sugary taste and they were yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foosha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
Much better with chocolate chips. Got kind of "gooy" on top and crunchy on the bottom. Not dessert, more like breakfast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari Evans Ryan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Brownell, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
Coconut bars tasted wonderful, I must have made them slightly different when I made a second batch, but they turned out to be a crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2005
My family really liked these. I didn't have any walnuts but I increased the coconut a little bit. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
Good recipe to bring for a crowd. It has a good basic cake/bar flavor that will probably be liked by all. Next time - I might add a drop of almond extract to the glaze before frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
This recipe was okay, I thought the flavor was a little bland, so I tried to add some pineapple but still wasn't pleased with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States