Buttermilk Coconut Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2015
Absolutely so irresistible they are a addictive
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
These are so yummy. Used chopped pecans in place of chopped walnuts. Will add to my favorite recipes and share at family and neighborhood outings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
Excellent. Different. Moist cake on rich, buttery crust. Followed other reviewers' suggestions to use more coconut in the crust (because I was specifically wanting something very coconutty) and less cinnamon than called for (because I did not want spice cake per se). I used glaze with a bit of butter in it -- takes the recipe from snack cake to irresistible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
These are awesome. My husband hates coconut and nuts. I'm going to make him try them anyway, I'm willing to bet he'll love them anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy Desfosses-Gast

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Klemme, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
This was delicious. So simple to make. A good use for that leftover buttermilk. I made it for Mother's Day and everyone loved it. My only critique would be the name. To me it's a cake, with a crust, not a bar. Which makes no difference. A great recipe though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jdhenin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Recipe worked great. Nice flavors and good textures. Only flaw is that there is too much sugar. It is overly sweet and you could definitely use less sugar overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
We really liked these bars and thought they were best a day old or more. The only thing I did differently was add twice the coconut as it seemed a small amount for the size of pan. Upon eating my last piece I thought that they would make a good carrot cake type dessert by simply adding some shredded carrots to the final layer. I can't say that would improve the dessert but it would be adding to the nutritive value.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
This was really good. It does not need any icing at all. I did add a little extra coconut but it would be yummy just as the recipe indicates as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
The texture was just not right, and the taste just didnt bring out the coconut. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StevenRN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Skipped the icing and added a little more coconut and vanilla. This was phenomenal. My whole famly loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Brunswick, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States