Buttermilk Cinnamon Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
This recipe was good, but very sweet. My family likes our cinnamon rolls with frosting and put together with these rolls and they are a little too sweet. They were also not quite as doughy as we like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyHaldeman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scotia, New York, USA
Photo by Ahmilya
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
This recipe turned out perfectly. I added a quarter cup of sugar with the buttermilk and tripled the cinnamon, based on other revews. The only thing I had trouble with was the baking time. I baked them at 350 for ten minutes. I didn't feel like making icing but I did add some leftover butterscotch chips. Very nice! I'm making more this weekend and I'm adding currants this time. Once again, awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
This is the easiest cinnamon roll recipe! When I made these, I had never made any type of yeast bread in my life-and they still turned out perfect! Like some of the other reviewers, I doubled the filling. I cut the rolls with unwaxed dental floss as well. I also used the overnight method and they turned out perfect the next morning! They taste great with the Cinnamon Bun Icing recipe from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BaysMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oak Hill, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
We really didn't like this recipe, for a number of reasons. I agree with another reviewer who said these taste like biscuits with a hint of cinnamon. Thinking ahead, I made sure the dough was fairly thin so it wasn't overpowering the cinnamon. The actual dough was quite good, but nowhere near what I had hoped. I took some reviewers' advice and doubled the butter/cinnamon/sugar combo, but that made it incredibly gooey and messy to roll the log. To others wanting to try this recipe, I suggest making two small rectangles as opposed to one - it can be very difficult to manoeuver. Would have liked an icing recipe to accompany it. Won't be making these again, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
If I could give this 10 stars, I would. It is by far the best and easiest cinnamon bun recipe out there. I follow the dough recipe to the T, then vary the fillings. Mini chocolate chips with toasted pecans and a butter/cinnamon/brown sugar mix was a huge hit at the inn I was pastry chef for; had people driving all the way from Maine to get them. Orange zest and walnuts with a raw sugar/butter filling is divine with a light orange zest infused sugar icing glaze at the end. Make them at night, refrigerate overnight and bake in the morning for something that tastes like you spent hours and hours on it. Oh, and a note. If you warm the buttermilk too much, it curdles, but doesn't wreck it. Just stir with a wisk and dump it into the mixer. No worries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Millstone, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
I used the overnight method for these rolls and was disappointed that even tho I let them come to room temperature before baking in the morning, they did not raise. I am used to larger, fluffier rolls. May try the bake right away method next time however the filling for these rolls was the best I've ever found.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Spindale, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
This was the nicest dough I ever worked with. Rolls were delish. We put cream cheese icing on them. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA
Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
WONDERFUL! These are our new favorite back to school breakfast. My boys loved these. I used the cream cheese frosting recommendation, added 1/2 cup sugar to the buttermilk, and doubled the brown sugar and cinnamon in the filling. Thanks for all the helpful reviews. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
If there was a 10 star rating I would give it to this one. EXCELLENT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
This recipe is so simple and delicious. Great to make Christmas Eve and to pop in the oven for a wonderful Christmas even breakfast. I recommend putting walnuts and raisins in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Ninety-Minute Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make quick-and-easy homemade cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States