Buttermilk Cinnamon Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
EASY! This dough was SO easy to work with. I didn't have to add any additional flour. I am only rating 4 stars because I felt the roll could have been more tender. I didn't over work the dough so I am not sure why it wasn't as soft as I would have expected. I used a cream cheese frosting and will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
These turned out perfectly. I followed the recipe as written but added an extra half cup of flour. I used my Kitchenaid to do the mixing and kneading. It worked perfectly. These were easy to roll and cut. I let them rise and then refrigerated them to bake first thing on Christmas morning and then smeared some homemade cream cheese frosting on top. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Used this for our Christmas breakfast. The only variation I made was to use half whole wheat and half white flour. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Wonderful. I've been looking for a recipe that produces cinnamon rolls that are similar to the ones that were served at our local cafe many years ago. This is really close! And they were so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Oh. My. Gosh. These are AMAZING! I put homemade cream cheese frosting on them about 30 minutes after they came out of the oven, and my husband, a big fan of Cinnabon, said that they're even better than Cinnabon! I used 1 c bread flour along with 3-1/2 c AP flour, and I used the overnight method...I cannot go on enough about how absolutely fantastic these were...and I chuckle about the review that said it was awful...well, if you put in 8 c of flour, then of course it will be awful - the recipe calls for 4-1/2!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I enjoyed these rolls very much! Thanks for the reciepe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keith Harden

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Perfect! I feel vindicated - I have finally conquered yeast, thanks to this recipe. The dough is soft and so easy to work with. It baked up nicely, into a perfectly soft roll, with lots of brown sugar and cinnamon flavor. Only change was to use two teaspoons of cinnamon. I did make a glaze for these, but honestly I liked them better without it - they are perfect the way they are. I like the idea of adding other spices, like nutmeg or a shake of ground cloves. Thanks, Amy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
These were very tasty! I modified the recipe, which is why I give it 3 stars as written. I added about 1/3 cup of sugar (white granulated) and a few generous shakes of cinnamon and a dash of ground cloves into the dough itself. Without it, I can understand why some reviewers simply called them biscuits. I also added some icing on top (made of powdered sugar, milk, and vanilla extract), which really finished it off. I had a really difficult time rolling the dough into a log. It didn't really "roll", more like "folded". And as it folded, it pushed all my gooey deliciousness out. I don't know if it's just me (this is my first time making cinnamon rolls), so maybe I just need practice on that part? But I was sad that a lot of my cinnamon sugar mixture simply oozed out when I was trying to roll it up. Because my roll was so flat, I also had to kind of fold them in half again as I put them on the pan. Regardless, after rising, they still looked decent (I left them rise for over an hour) and in the end, they still tasted good (great, with the icing on top). It only took about 15 minutes to cook, and even then I could have taken them out 1 or 2 minutes earlier. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Holy frijoles.....this makes a BIG cinnamon roll. I used my Kitchen Aid mixer to work with this recipe. I proofed the yeast with the warm water and an additional quarter cup of sugar (personal choice, as I wanted a sweeter dough) for ten minutes, then added the buttermilk and a half cup of melted butter in place of the vegetable oil while alternating with the dry ingredients. I did not need much more than a couple extra tablespoons of flour. When I made the filling, I upped the cinnamon to two and a half teaspoons of cinnamon and a teaspoon and a half of nutmeg. Again, that's personal preferance. I found this dough very easy to work with, one of the easiest I have worked with. Rose beautifully, was easy to roll out and roll back up and cut. Really just GREAT dough. Honestly. These even baked up really well. And I really liked that the melted butter was mixed with the brown sugar and spices. It really made making these rolls a snap for me. I don't know why I never thought of that before. The only problem I had was not using a deep enough pan. When the filling oozed out of the rolls, it bled all over my oven causing a small fire. Not fun. BUT, that is my fault, not reflective of the recipe. This was the best cinnamon roll recipe I've worked with made even better by personal changes of my own. I plan on frosting them with a homemade cream cheese cinnamon roll icing. Watch the baking time, though. These cook fast and can burn if you aren't watching carefully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I made these with creamy buttermilk icing. They were refrigerated over night, and baked in the morning for a delicious start to the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jc3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Ninety-Minute Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make quick-and-easy homemade cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States