Buttermilk Cinnamon Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Since I love cinnamon rolls and my husband is not the biggest fan of them (especially the cinnabons where he only sees the calories and not the taste) I had to find a good recipe that will convince him to enjoy these goodies every now and then. I read quiet a few reviews on here and also the "least positive" ones and really cannot understand how this recipe could have failed. The yeast dough measurements worked out very good, part of the last half cup I kneaded in when I worked the dough on the surface. I dissolved the yeast in the warm water and let it sit for about 10 minutes until nice and foamy and then added just a little bit of sugar. I take one star down because of the brown sugar mixture. It indeed was too liquidy and once I rolled up my buns I ended up with it leaking everywhere and when I cut it, it even made a bigger mess. It should be thicker, I think. What I did, since I had not poured all of it on there I used the left overs from the bowl and just spread it over the rolls in the pan. They baked out light and fluffy and the taste was really nice. I hope they freeze well, I did them last night and we ended up with 26 medium size rolls, so I baked the big dish last night and let them cool over night in the dish the smaller dish, I covered and put in the fridge over night and baked them this morning. Both worked out great. This will be my cinnamon roll recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Tried this recipe based on positive reviews, but found them to be a flavorless mess. 4.5C was no where near enough flour. Added extra, 1/2C at a time and actually lost count at 6.5C. The dough never came together properly, but I continued with preparation anyway. The dough did rise nicely, but it was far too loose and practically impossible to work with. Melting the butter made it very easy to get it and the cinnamon/sugar on the dough, but the dough was too mushy to roll. Thankfully I rolled it out on a piece of floured plastic wrap and was able to use that to help me form the roll. The log would have been impossible to cut, so I covered and tossed it in the frig overnight hoping that would help firm it up enough to cut. Again, it rose nicely and I was finally able to cut the log into rolls. I baked them for 20 minutes - they browned nicely but over half of the filling bled out leaving a tasteless mess of a cinnamon roll. There was literally no flavor! I made a quick glaze with powdered sugar, a few drops of milk, and a dash of vanilla. My son was finally able to eat one once we glazed them, but they were just not good enough to justify the time involved. Followed instructions to the letter, with the exception of the flour, but this was just off. Won't be making these again. You'll be better off with the kind you pop from a can. If you do decide to try them, I highly recommend using softened butter NOT melted, in order to keep more of the filling inside the roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I usually make the Clone of a Cinnabon recipe but made this as I had buttermilk to use up. This recipe reminds me of the Amish buns we once were able to get when I was little. These are wonderful! Every other recipe I have made before this the dough kind of shrunk in the middle leaving the buns open. These stayed nicely rolled and tight. The flavor was delicious and the texture was moist and flaky. This will be my go to for cinnamon buns from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I've made these before and they turned out great! But this time the dough was too fluffy, I had the feeling I had used too much yeast (but used exactly the quantity it called for) Any ideas what might have gone wrong? I couldn't even form the rolls, they came undone and I don't think they'll come out right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
These are delicious. I used my bread machine for the 1st 1/2 hour, took the dough out after 1/2 hour and spread it out, put the butter/sugar/cinnamon inside and then placed in pan, let rise 1/2 hour. Quick and very good tasting. I'll make these again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Fan-freaking-tastic! Made a maple glaze for these and they won our taste test against another highly rated roll recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell, California, USA
Living In: Pleasant View, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I was so happy to find an egg-free cinnamon roll recipe since my son has an egg allergy. We loved them! I didn't have buttermilk and used 1/2 c sour cream and 1 scant cup milk plus 1 tablespoon of vinegar as a substitute. I made cinnamon roll frosting to go over them. The only issue I had was that in one of the pans they stuck really badly but in the other pan they didn't stick at all. I will grease the pan more heavily next time. I used my kitchenaid for all mixing. These are going to be a tradition for conference weekend! I might add some chopped nuts next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by menab
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Omg this is the best recipe... So good and fluffy!!! It's definitely a keeper... Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Oh WOW!! what an awesome recipe! thanks for sharing, I am making this a new family tradition, dough worked beautifully, finished product is outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fstmate@yahoo.com

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Followed the dough recipe as written and had no problems with the amount of flour or dough consistency (as noted by some other reviewers). For the filling I substituted applesauce and apple butter for about half of the butter, and I used at least twice as much cinnamon. The resulting cinnamon rolls were good but not my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Ninety-Minute Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make quick-and-easy homemade cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States