Buttermilk Chocolate Cake with Fudge Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2001
yummmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iron River, Michigan, USA
Living In: Goodman, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2001
The first few times I made this we thought it was great, but then we realized it had a noticeable "eggy" flavor. I am going to give it one more try substituting cool water for the boiling water--I am afraid that is cooking the eggs! Anyone else had that problem? Note on 12/21/01--tried again, but still tasted eggy, won't make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2001
Delicious. Made it with cream cheese frosting and brought it to work. Some came back for thirds!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2001
Very moist chocolate cake. I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2001
The cake does not have enough chocolate. It had a very bland taste. You need a lot of chocolate icing! I did not try this fudge icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2001
Excellent. Very moist and nice flavour. I did find the fudge icing a bit too rich (but a friend found it perfect). Also, the batter is quite runny, if baking in springform, stick a pan underneath!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PERSEPHONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2002
it was a very moist chocolate cake, and the buttermilk smells really good when you are baking it. But I wasn't that impressed with the cake overall. I probably wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2002
This recipe is fantastic! Every chocolate cake I've ever made has come out dry but this one was perfect! and so easy! I beat it by hand not with a mixer and used a chocolate buttercream frosting. Ummmm! good! But beware, you'll be coming back for 2nds and 3rds and it is sinfully rich and so delicious! Nana Betty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
Great, and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Germantown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
Was nice and moist but not chocolatey enough. Would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beverly, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cinnaminson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States