Buttermilk Chocolate Cake with Fudge Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 23, 2009
I am rating the icing and it is to die for!!! It has great consistency, tastes great, and looks very professional. This will be my recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
I am back for my second baking of this recipe. YUMMY.....ONE THING....everyone who said add MORE cocoa? They are SPOT ON. With added cocoa and cutting the recipe in half because there are only 2 of us....it's a KEEPER and a WINNER. By the way....1/2 a recipe makes a dozen cupcakes and may I suggest ganache for frosting? YUMMY GOOD! THANKS for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOPIEKITTY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Port Huron, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
This cake is icky. Weak chocolate taste and bilge water coloring. Anyone with decent tastebuds should try the "Dark Chocolate Cake 1" recipe submitted by Carol. Better taste, color, texture...etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SeaSicSara
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
this for the fudge icing only...haven't tried the cake. i made the icing with the "black magic cake." DELICIOUS icing!!! foolproof recipe!! and the consistency can be manipulated a little depending on how long you beat it for. TIP: spread the icing slightly warm..it'll be much easier to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
This was the best chocolate cake I have ever made. The changes I made was that I added like a 1/2 of cup of cocoa and sifted the flour. The cake was very very moist and delicious. I used a cream cheese frosting instead of the chocolate frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Zac

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Smyrna, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I think this cake was so easy to make and looks fantasitc. I love the mild flavor of the cake and think the icing is over the moon good. Made it in a bunt cake and poored warm icing over cake before it was too thick. I am always looking for not to sweet cakes and this is it. I cant wait till the morning to enjoy this with coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
If you like chocolate then this is the cake for you. I love chocolate and this might just be a little too much for me. The icing is delicious but very rich. I baked the cake in a bundt pan like one of the reviewers did and it turned out great. It does require more backing time. I just poured the icing over it more like a glaze than frosting. Very good but very rich almost like a chocolate cake you would have at a nice restraurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
This cabe it the hit of the birthdays. My family always asks me to bring this:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This cake and frosting were so easy to make and so very delicious! I will recommend to my friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
I'm munching on a piece right now and feeling mighty glad about it! It's like a good, old-fashioned, home-style chocolate cake that begs to be eaten with a glass of milk, and a cozy quilt (for your lap, that is!). I used my own favorite chocolate buttermilk frosting and they go nicely together. At some of the other reviewers' suggestions, I increased the cocoa to 1/4 cup and was glad I did. This isn't the darkest chocolate cake, so I can see why some of the reviewers were expecting more, especially since in the picture the cake looked very dark. It's not like the rich and dense chocolate cakes you might find in a restaurant. It's more light and fluffy, and very, very moist, which I love in a cake. A nice recipe using ingredients you will likely have on hand, and it's easy to whip up at the last minute for company or a mad-chocolate craving! Thanks for sharing, Sandy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Dee's Yummies

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 81-90 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States