Buttermilk Chocolate Cake with Fudge Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Have made this cake 3 times now and each time it turned out sucessful. I personally made the cake just in a 9 x 13 pan... just due to face that is what worked for my crowd. I did not use the icing though, I didn't think it would be well recipe, so I used a butter icing with cocoa in it... that was great on the cake..... naturally sprinkles for the kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie ...from...Saskatchewan!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bruno, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Eston, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I made this in a rice cooker with additions mentioned in other reviews- around half a cup of cocoa powder in the cake and a little extra powdered sugar in the icing. It was dense and rich- a friend said that it was just like cake from a restaurant. I thought that the cake itself was a tad on the sweet side, so next time I make it (and I know I will!) I'll cut a bit of the sugar. Mixing the baking soda with the buttermilk was a nice trick, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
This review is actually for the Fudge Icing only- I made a cake from cake-mix and poured this fudge icing over the top before the cake cooled (this was a great time saver, and ensured that the icing went on smooth and glossy. It was awesome! Tastes so good, and even though a few reviewers complained that the frosting didn't make a lot, it seems you don't need a thick layer of frosting because of the richness/sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Needs more cocoa powder! I gave it a 4 for moistness and for the frosting. I put 6 tablespoons. (Didn't read the reviews. Just out of instinct, knew it needed more.) Wasn't as chocolatly as I wanted it be. We are eating it though, almost gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Wonderful cake recipe. After reading some of the reviews, I decided to increase the amount of cocoa powder. But alas, I was running out and thus ended up only using the 3 tablespoons it says to in the recipe. Unfortunately, the cake did not have as much chocolate flavor as I had hoped it would; however it did have a great texture. Very pleased with the results! I only wish I could have made the icing, but after mixing the cake batter I found I was out of white sugar and unsweetened cocoa powder. Will make this again, hopefully with the icing too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
ehh. This cake wasn't too good. It was more mos than it should have been, and since there was too less sugar the cake turned out bland. Terrible. Too squishy and I will not save this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
not really impressed with this recipe. icing should be used as a base
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
really delicious! it tastes like ten times better than the box cake mix and the icing is amazing as well. The recipe is easy to follow and didnt make any additions or substitutions....and everything came out perfect. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adilah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Flavor was amazing, though I anticipated a bit different texture. The family loved this. I just liked it. I did, however, LOVE the glaze. I used a whisk throughout cooking instead of the beaters and it was fine. Really nice in a bundt pan, just be sure to add 10 minutes or so to cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irmo, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Disclaimer: cake just made, I haven't yet tasted it. I'm giving it 3 stars because it took sooo long for the center of the cake to set that the edges got a bit crispy. Also, despite reducing both the boiling and the beating time for the icing, it still got firm immediately and I could not even spread it to the edges of my 9 x 13 cake. It might taste good, but it's not pretty. Update: Cake was pretty tasteless, even after increasing the cocoa as other readers suggested. Icing was more like a chocolate crust. Won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States