Buttermilk Chocolate Cake with Fudge Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
This cake itself was moist, however, was not chocolatey enough for me at all. I even used 1/4 cup cocoa powder. The icing was very good tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Really, really good and turned out not nearly as rich as I thought it was going to be. It was surprising light tasting. Made as directed except I used half oil half apple sauce instead of the full amount of oil. Also baked in a bundt tin which was greased and dusted with cocoa powder (as per a previous reviewer). Baked for a total of 50mins. Made an excellent birthday cake :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
I have seriously had box mixes that were better than this. Hardly any chocolate flavor without the frosting; the cake simply does not stand up on its own. Bland, boring, and a not to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I absolutely love this cake! and honestly im not a huge chocolate cake fan but this one made a fan out of me. I make a peanut butter chocolate ganache instead of frosting and the flavors blend so well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
was not impressed. cake had little taste even though I used 1/2 cup of cocoa powder. as another viewer said maybe people don't know what a good chocolate cake tastes like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Made this the other night, but instead of making a cake I made cupcakes. They looked wonderful with the shiny smooth frosting poured onto the tops. Taste= 2 star warm, but jumps to four stars once refridgerated and served cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Samia Asaad
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
The cake turned out very well. Since we dont get butter milk here so I added 1 tsp white vinegar in ordinary milk as a substitute. The receipe doesnt mention at which step should we add baking soda. Cake was a bit dry from inside despite the fact that I added a layer of icing in between.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samia Asaad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Karachi, Sindh, Pakistan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
delicious! i love this cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
This cake is sooo wonderful!!!! I made it for a barbque at my sisters house and it was a hit. My sister doesnt care for chocolate cake but after tasting this, she had 2 pieces. Im making it again tonight for another barbque! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I bake A LOT and I followed this recipe exactly, but I will not make this cake again. I'm unsure why it has gotten such good reviews. Perhaps people have never had a really good piece of chocolate cake before. I'll give it 2 stars because it didn't taste "bad", but I think there are things wrong with the recipes for both the cake and the frosting. The cake definitely needed more cocoa powder. Also, the texture was strange when it had finished baking. Part of the problem may lie with the method in which it is mixed and it that it is a fairly runny batter. By itself, I didn't care for the cake at all. The fudge topping has a good flavor, but unless you like to crunch on granules of sugar, it should be cooked differently. The sugar needs a chance to dissolve. Fudge should be smooth, not crystallized. I think the problem may be that it needs more liquid, perhaps some corn syrup. I am going to look for another chocolate cake recipe. In all seriousness, the ones out of the box are better. Sorry, but this one is definitely not worth the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States