Buttermilk Chocolate Cake with Fudge Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
We love this cake!! It is so good. The frosting is very good, too. Simple and satisfying! I just made the cake again and it is still my favorite simple chocolate cake recipe. It seems pretty wholsome, too-not too sweet. I used evaporated cane sugar instead of white sugar in both the cake and the frosting and it tastes just the same. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesalee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Good recipe, flavorful - but maybe that's because I added 1/2 c semi-sweet chips to the boiling water until mostly melted. I boosted the cocoa powder, too, according to the previous reviews. I doubled the recipe thinking it would be the right amount for 1/2 sheet pan. Probably could have just done 1.5 recipe. Doubling made a lot! I always taste the batter and learned that if the batter tastes good, so will the cake. My version tasted great. For frosting I made it as is but when beating with a mixer I added 1 cup powdered sugar. Nice texture and easily spreadable if you don't wait too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathyBarbieri
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
Pretty mild-I was expecting more richness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
The cake batter was very liquidity, and mine seemed to rise too quickly, so the middle sunk a bit. Also, took longer to cook, which could be my altitude (3000). The cake was delicious but I did a 1/2 cup of cocoa as others suggested. I frosted with chocolate buttercream frosting, no complaints here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINSEID

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Made the icing and not the cake. The icing is amazing! I beat it for about two minutes and it was starting to thicken a lot, DO NOT do three! Other than that it's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Cake a little bland. Icing is a syrup not an icing. My family liked it but I have made better. Not the worse recipe not the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Rosemere, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
Icing was not icing - but actual fudge! A nice easy fudge recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clayton, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bella Vista, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
Delicious. An old friend gave me this recipe and I lost it. I have searched for some time. The frosting is prepared a little different; 1 st. butter 2 Tbs. cocoa 6 T. milk 1 lb. pdr. sugar 1 tsp. vanilla 1 c. chopped nuts, walnuts preferred. Put butter, cocoa, and milk in same small pan and bring to boil. Gradually beat in powdered sugar, nuts, and vanilla. Pour over hot cake, spread and cool. Spread warm on warm cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
i hav 2 say this is one of the moisest cakes ever!! i made it on a friay and iced on a wednsday and it was moist!!! i added orange extract as thats what i had in and it gave a lovely flavour of choc orange!! used fudge icing (melted butter, milk and icing sugar) and it was a winner, my son ate most, breakfast, lunch and supper, makes a good party cake to ice and keep, thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blessed life

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by L.P.L.
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
This recipe makes a decent chocolate cake. I reduced sugar in both the cake and icing because I love the bitterness in dark chocolate. And, this cake is incomplete without the fudge icing--it is a must! Fortunately, I read others' reviews. I used a hand whisk to beat the icing mixture, and stopped once it started to thicken up. Otherwise, it'd thicken up so fast that you couldn't pour it onto the cake. And, the best part was that the icing set up really fast. But I do agree with other reviewers: The icing couldn't completely cover up the cake. So, I'll double the icing next time around. With these adjustments, this recipe isn't too bad at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L.P.L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States