Buttermilk Chocolate Cake with Fudge Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Really good and moist, but I doubled the frosting recipe after reading other comments. I definitely recommend doubling the frosting, it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dewitt, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I made this with the additional cocoa and instead of a cup of boiling water, I used a cup of coffee. The batter was runny as others have said. I cooked it for 5 extra minutes as it wasn't quite done. Delicious!! The frosting turned out fine. I doubled the recipe. I did not have time to cool it so I poked holes in the cake and poured the frosting on top. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cory
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I took the advice of another reviewer and made it in a bundt pan. I also injected some of the frosting into the cake. It was fantastic!! My family loved it. It was gone in about 18 hours. I shared with some coworkers who all demanded the recipe. One suggested that next time I inject it with some homemade marshmallow or Ho Ho type of filling. I will try that for sure. But I kept all of the ingredients the same and it was awesome. My dad said the only problem he had with it was that I didn't give him a big enough piece lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
easy, light and yum. I made this for my bday and it was a hit. I aslo made the icing yum, a really delish cake - I ate half of the cake on my own. With a culpa yum. Can not make this cake again as I have put on weight as it was in my fridge and I picked at it until it was all gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ms.BlacKButterfly
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
I'm not really a Chocolate fan but I tried this recipe and it was Awesome!!! Even the icing was great will definitely bake again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
The reviews on this cake are so overrated(in my opinion). This cake is brown, but a chocolate cake...I don't think so. I searched for a cake recipe using buttermilk because I had some left over from making pancakes. I should have saved the buttermilk for biscuits. None of the reviews mentioned that this batter is extremely loose(runny)so that was a shock to me. I am a heck of a cook and have catered many events and sold many home baked goodies, so I do not lack the skill. This is a terrible cake and the icing is not even an icing....it's more like a coco spread. The overly chocolate-tasting icing had to have been created to make up for the lack of flavor this dense (and more dense as it cools) cake. I can't see this recipe being made to taste better. I'll just stick with the cake recipes I know in the future. A tiny slice is all I needed and will never want more of this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K Parker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Coralville, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
This absolutely the best recipe for chocolate cake I have ever baked. Most of my past attempts resulted in a dry, bland, cake. Not this one! This cake is beyond moist and has a light texture. This will be my go to recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Great, simple recipe. Cake is moist. Fudge Icing cooks and tastes fudgy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
This cake turned out absolutely amazing, it didn't last three days in our house. Even my husband, who complained the entire time I was making it because he doesn't care for chocolate, helped himself to half of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
I really loved it was so yummy the fudgr was so good and the cake was lovely and fluffy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States