Buttermilk Chocolate Cake with Fudge Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lena
Reviewed: May 15, 2015
I baked in a bundt pan and did use 1/4 cup of cocoa powder. The cake was moist and yummy! Not too sweet or 'rich', which was what I was looking for. The batter is 'runny'. I thought maybe I didn't put enough flour (my son had distracted me for a minute and I lost count of how much flour I had already scooped in). However, a quick read of the reviews and I read the batter is runny. I made it for someone's birthday at work. Everyone loved it. Only thing I didn't do was beat the frosting with a mixer. And I cooked it on medium instead of letting it boil. For these reasons, my frosting was somewhat grainy (from sugar crystals). Not a super big deal but next time I'll make sure it breaks down. Also, I used buttermilk in the frosting since I didn't have regular milk. YUMMMMMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
My wife and I love this recipe so much, my wife begs me to bake one _every_ time she's in the mood for a chocolate cake. She even prefers it over her traditional, family recipe Sour Cream Chocolate Cake! (And that's saying a LOT!) In fact, the only time she bakes her family recipe cake is when she invites her mother over for cake. No changes to the recipe necessary. I use a heavy cast aluminum Bundt pan, and cocoa vs flour when greasing the pan for fantastic results every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Hoenig

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Papillion, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Really good and moist, but I doubled the frosting recipe after reading other comments. I definitely recommend doubling the frosting, it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dewitt, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I made this with the additional cocoa and instead of a cup of boiling water, I used a cup of coffee. The batter was runny as others have said. I cooked it for 5 extra minutes as it wasn't quite done. Delicious!! The frosting turned out fine. I doubled the recipe. I did not have time to cool it so I poked holes in the cake and poured the frosting on top. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cory
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I took the advice of another reviewer and made it in a bundt pan. I also injected some of the frosting into the cake. It was fantastic!! My family loved it. It was gone in about 18 hours. I shared with some coworkers who all demanded the recipe. One suggested that next time I inject it with some homemade marshmallow or Ho Ho type of filling. I will try that for sure. But I kept all of the ingredients the same and it was awesome. My dad said the only problem he had with it was that I didn't give him a big enough piece lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
easy, light and yum. I made this for my bday and it was a hit. I aslo made the icing yum, a really delish cake - I ate half of the cake on my own. With a culpa yum. Can not make this cake again as I have put on weight as it was in my fridge and I picked at it until it was all gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ms.BlacKButterfly
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
I'm not really a Chocolate fan but I tried this recipe and it was Awesome!!! Even the icing was great will definitely bake again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
The reviews on this cake are so overrated(in my opinion). This cake is brown, but a chocolate cake...I don't think so. I searched for a cake recipe using buttermilk because I had some left over from making pancakes. I should have saved the buttermilk for biscuits. None of the reviews mentioned that this batter is extremely loose(runny)so that was a shock to me. I am a heck of a cook and have catered many events and sold many home baked goodies, so I do not lack the skill. This is a terrible cake and the icing is not even an icing....it's more like a coco spread. The overly chocolate-tasting icing had to have been created to make up for the lack of flavor this dense (and more dense as it cools) cake. I can't see this recipe being made to taste better. I'll just stick with the cake recipes I know in the future. A tiny slice is all I needed and will never want more of this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K Parker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Coralville, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
This absolutely the best recipe for chocolate cake I have ever baked. Most of my past attempts resulted in a dry, bland, cake. Not this one! This cake is beyond moist and has a light texture. This will be my go to recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Great, simple recipe. Cake is moist. Fudge Icing cooks and tastes fudgy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States