Buttermilk Chocolate Cake with Fudge Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
this was really good and so moist thank you for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sulligent, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Great, easy to make cake but remember to use coco powder on the bottom instead of flour on this cake especially as it is really, really, really dark. Great 1st time cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
This didn't turn out for me. I'll admit, I didn't have Buttermilk. I used Milk and vinegar instead. It took twice as long to bake and the icing didn't set up right. It's okay for the chocolate craving, but I won't be making this again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I was very disappointed with this cake. The cake did not rise the way it should have. The bottom part looked like it was still raw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
The only thing saving this cake is the fudge icing. While the cake was moist, it tasted light and oily rather than rich and chocolatey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Good chocolate cake and icing. However, I think it should be 1/2 cup cocoa for the cake and probably 3 T cocoa for the icing. I added more cocoa to the cake, but did not catch the mistake in the icing recipe...followed icing recipe to the T, except I used Splenda as I was out of white sugar. Icing was not sweet enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Cake itself was amazing, very moist! However the icing was a bit bitter, perhaps too much cocoa, I would half the amount next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cait

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
This recipe is infact moist! Substituted Splenda instead of sugar and it came out not too bad! Good choice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
definitely a great chocolate recipe. i just baked it and it's almost gone! my little brother loves it! great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
5 stars for the fudge icing! I havent tried the cake but the icing is so incredible. I used it on cupcakes and poked holes in them with a toothpick. The fudge saturated these cupcakes and made them irrestible. Also saved left over fudge for hot fudge sundaes. Incredible recipe! Thanks again Sandy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States