Buttermilk Chocolate Cake with Fudge Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I didn't try the cake but the icing was the best. Sets really quick so you have to work fast. It smooths its self so if you are like me and not very good at frosting a cake it was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Made this for my son's birthday. Not impressed. Followed recipe except increased cocoa to 1/4 c. Good flavor and moist, but turned out very dense and heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I made this cake and it is absolutely delicious. I followed directions exactly. I did use chocolate buttercream for frosting, recipe found on this site. I baked in a 9x13, very moist, no issues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Chocolate cake is my favorite and this cake was delicious... the best chocolate cake I've ever made. My husband loved it. It was perfectly moist and I really liked the fudge icing. I prefer regular sugar over confectioners for making chocolate icing now that I've made this icing, it is not as super-sweet...very good. I did use 1/4 cup cocoa instead of 3T for the batter. I would definitely recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I read through the reviews before I made this cake just so I could make the best cake for the ingredients I had on hand. Money's tight and I really don't have money to waste when I mess up something like this. For the cake, I cut the sugar back by a cup and I used butter instead of vegetable oil. For the frosting, I used powdered sugar instead of regular white sugar (I had some powdered sugar I had to use up) and I doubled all the ingredients for the frosting because there were quite a few reviewers who said there wasn't enough frosting. This turned out great--almost like a cake of my own that's quite similar. I'm really glad I cut back the sugar in the cake as it would have been too sweet if I hadn't. Also, the frosting really does need to be doubled for an 9x13 cake. This made a quick dessert for us tonight with basic pantry ingredients. Don't worry about adding more chocolate to the cake. The frosting is rich and fudgy enough that it totally works with the cake and it works together. Trust me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I haven't made the cake but I LOVE LOVE LOVE the icing. It's a great way to make a boxed cake mix taste homemade! My family (4boys + hubby) eat it all in one sitting. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LARALEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
great..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by agriff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
this was really good and so moist thank you for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sulligent, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Great, easy to make cake but remember to use coco powder on the bottom instead of flour on this cake especially as it is really, really, really dark. Great 1st time cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
This didn't turn out for me. I'll admit, I didn't have Buttermilk. I used Milk and vinegar instead. It took twice as long to bake and the icing didn't set up right. It's okay for the chocolate craving, but I won't be making this again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States