Buttermilk Chocolate Cake with Fudge Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
The pastry part was amazing BUT the icing turned out too thick, I had to add extra milk to it. :/ Overall though it turned out to be a good cake though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puff of the Cupcakes
Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
This cake itself was moist, however, was not chocolatey enough for me at all. I even used 1/4 cup cocoa powder. The icing was very good tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Really, really good and turned out not nearly as rich as I thought it was going to be. It was surprising light tasting. Made as directed except I used half oil half apple sauce instead of the full amount of oil. Also baked in a bundt tin which was greased and dusted with cocoa powder (as per a previous reviewer). Baked for a total of 50mins. Made an excellent birthday cake :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
I have seriously had box mixes that were better than this. Hardly any chocolate flavor without the frosting; the cake simply does not stand up on its own. Bland, boring, and a not to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I absolutely love this cake! and honestly im not a huge chocolate cake fan but this one made a fan out of me. I make a peanut butter chocolate ganache instead of frosting and the flavors blend so well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
was not impressed. cake had little taste even though I used 1/2 cup of cocoa powder. as another viewer said maybe people don't know what a good chocolate cake tastes like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Made this the other night, but instead of making a cake I made cupcakes. They looked wonderful with the shiny smooth frosting poured onto the tops. Taste= 2 star warm, but jumps to four stars once refridgerated and served cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Samia Asaad
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
The cake turned out very well. Since we dont get butter milk here so I added 1 tsp white vinegar in ordinary milk as a substitute. The receipe doesnt mention at which step should we add baking soda. Cake was a bit dry from inside despite the fact that I added a layer of icing in between.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samia Asaad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Karachi, Sindh, Pakistan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
delicious! i love this cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
This cake is sooo wonderful!!!! I made it for a barbque at my sisters house and it was a hit. My sister doesnt care for chocolate cake but after tasting this, she had 2 pieces. Im making it again tonight for another barbque! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States