Buttermilk Chocolate Cake with Fudge Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I made this for my boyfriend's birthday. I added raspberries on top for decoration and to add a fruity flavor. Everyone at the dinner party loved it. Even someone who doesn't do a lot of sugar asked for an extra piece to enjoy the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
very good cake and icing. The icing itself could be used as a chocolate sauce over ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Beckwith Township, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Mine came out like jelly. I have no idea why mine didn't work. Needs more chocolate too xx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
The best chocolate cake i've ever made!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
I only made the frosting, but it was GREAT! I didn't realize the frosting would still be runny sort of even after 3 mins of beating. I beat the frosting for WAY too long. But, I didn't care, it was still wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnsboro, Texas, USA
Living In: Mount Pleasant, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
I absolutely LOVE this cake!! I will be using it as my go-to chocolate cake from now on, it also works well as cupcakes :) Bake about 18-20 mins a batch I added a 1/4 cup, plus a tablespoon, of dutch cocoa power (because I love a rich chocolate flavor). I also used 3 tablespoons vanilla as suggested. I did not make the fudge icing, I made a simple buttercream frosting and it tasted wonderful. The longer the cake sat, the better it became...just ate the last slice on day 5 after baking...such a moist and fluffy crumb...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by re_see44

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
I made this exactly as the recipe showed. Normally I make a few changes but wanted to really try the way it was written. It was like eating air; no flavor in the cake at all. I have made the icing many times before and is the best frosting I have ever had, but the cake.....no way. I won't ever make it again with the given recipe. This is the first time I have ever given a 1 star on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
I dont know what I did wrong. I think it was the type of cocoa I used. When I finished the cake, I cut myself a slice, it looked delicuos! It looked like a brownie or something like that, but when I bit into it it was tasteless. :( Next time Ill try a different kind of cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I was looking for a recipe that used Buttermilk as I had purchased it for another recipe. This is great recipe and it sounded familiar to me. I compared this with my Mom's recipe and she has been making this for years. The only change I made was low fat Buttermilk and 4 tablespoons for cocoa. I did make the fristing that was in included in this recipe and it was good, however I prefer my Mom's buttercream! Yummy cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Utica, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by imtassiethatsme
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
This fabulous! I added a 1/2c flour and have never had it fall. Absolutely moist, flavorful and decadent. I frosted it with chocolate fudge and peanut butter frosting. WOW!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imtassiethatsme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States