Buttermilk Chocolate Cake with Fudge Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
This is more like a soggy steamed pudding than a cake, even after baking 40 minutes. I notice that the pictured cake shrank from the edges, as did mine. It had a bland flavor. The icing was sugary but slightly bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
Hello - This was a moist cake but had a lazy flavour. I would not make this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HAV2SING
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
Flavor is excellent. I only gave it 4 stars however, because I want more frosting. I took a photo, which shows how the frosting doesn't cover the entire cake. Sure, it is rich, and sweet... but I *like* chocolate cake that way! The more the better!! I did follow someone else's suggestion of using 1/4 Cup of Cocoa for the cake batter, and am glad I did. Now I'm off to make another batch of frosting - yum! -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
After reading the reviews I decided to make a few small changes and made this a 5 star recipe (well at least to me). I added 1/4 cup of cocoa powder instead of the 3T and an extra tsp of vanilla. Also I didn't have buttermilk so I added a tsp of vinegar to a cup of regular milk. The icing was very yummy even though I burnt it while boiling. I saved it by just pouring off the good stuff and not scaping the bottom of the pot. Also I only beat it for 2 min and didn't have any problems with it being too thick. SUPER DUPER and very moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
**When you mix the buttermilk and soda make sure you have it in a large enough container or it will overflow because it expands** This cake is good, just not great. The fudge icing is really good. It seems that it wont be enough to frost the cake, but it is. Like others have stated it sets up fast. I made the frosting again for another cake and added 1 cup small marshmallows after I took it off the burner. Mixed as directed. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
I made this cake with half sugar and half Splenda for my diabetic husband and mother-in-law. When their portions were cut, I made the frosting, which didn't thicken. I didn't panic, but beat 1 cup of confectioners sugar and 1/2 cup of peanut butter into the frosting, which made it spreadable and delicious. I will definitely make this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda C.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Savage, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
I made this cake for my sixteenth birthday and it was a big hit! I'd never made a cake from scratch before but this one turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
This cake is awesome! Not a very strong chocolate flavour, but really really moist. I didn't try the icing though, I didn't use any icing at all on this cake. Will make this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
I LOVE this cake. It's excelent--moist and tasty. It's a light chocolate taste with a rich topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELIZRA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2005
I found it quite moist. Makes nice cupcakes as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States