Buttermilk Chocolate Cake with Fudge Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
**When you mix the buttermilk and soda make sure you have it in a large enough container or it will overflow because it expands** This cake is good, just not great. The fudge icing is really good. It seems that it wont be enough to frost the cake, but it is. Like others have stated it sets up fast. I made the frosting again for another cake and added 1 cup small marshmallows after I took it off the burner. Mixed as directed. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
I made this cake with half sugar and half Splenda for my diabetic husband and mother-in-law. When their portions were cut, I made the frosting, which didn't thicken. I didn't panic, but beat 1 cup of confectioners sugar and 1/2 cup of peanut butter into the frosting, which made it spreadable and delicious. I will definitely make this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda C.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Savage, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
I made this cake for my sixteenth birthday and it was a big hit! I'd never made a cake from scratch before but this one turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
This cake is awesome! Not a very strong chocolate flavour, but really really moist. I didn't try the icing though, I didn't use any icing at all on this cake. Will make this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
I LOVE this cake. It's excelent--moist and tasty. It's a light chocolate taste with a rich topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELIZRA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2005
I found it quite moist. Makes nice cupcakes as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2004
I really liked this recipe--however, I substituted Splenda for the sugar in the fudge icing--BIG MISTAKE!! Follow the recipe to the letter and don't use sugar substitute...you'll be pleased with the results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2004
This was good. Not 5-stars good, but good. I would not classify this as easy to make as is indicated in the recipe. I couldnt imagine a "child" making this. It has a lot of steps to it, but it is worth the effort. I rarely look for easy in a recipe, more concerned with quality and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EDWARDGMYS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2004
I have made this recipes 5 times now....it is really a cake for chocolate lovers. I have been allergic to chocolate for years...but I can eat recipes made with Chocolate powder instead of the rich Chocolates you have to meat first. The Icing should not be mixed as long as stated in the recipe...just enough to thicken just a little and thin enough to still pour on cake..Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2004
I've never made the cake, but I have made the fudge icing and used it on other cakes. It is delicious and truly tastes like fudge. I would caution, however, that you do not beat it for the full 3 minutes if you intend to pour it over your cake (I like it poured over bundt cake). It will not flow down the sides but rather sit on the top in more of a clump. Stop beating when it looks a little thinner than what you want because it will set very fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEY1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States