Buttermilk Chocolate Cake with Fudge Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
followed to the letter, very good but 2nd time I made it I used a smaller pan, 8 x 11 and it turned out even better. Icing worked better too as the 9 x 13 was too big to barely cover. I baked 35 mins instead of 30.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
This cake is divine! So moist and tasty. Do not skip the frosting step, it compliments the cake perfectly - it is just not the same cake without it. I have made this cake several times and it has been consistently successful. Just a couple of suggestions: I use a little over 1/4 cup of cocoa powder, instead of 3 tbls. Do not burn your frosting. Properly butter and flour your pan beforehand (I use a 9X13 pan). Do NOT overbake. Take out while still slightly moist on the toothpick (not clean like the recipe says). I shut off oven and let the cake sit in for 5 min max after the slighly moist point. and ENJOY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Haifa, Mehoz Hefa, Israel
Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
Delicious! I made this for a friend's birthday and it was gone within minutes. The frosting I added a bit of icing sugar and real chocolate to which made it even more desirable. I would make this if I were you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
I like this cake, not to sweet. the fudge frosting is very chocolaty and sweet, a great combination! I will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Navarre, Ohio, USA
Living In: Massillon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
WOW! I think I ate the whole thing myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PIF

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
I used the icing on a different cake. It was good, not perfect but good. I actually liked the icing better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
easy recipe, but like others, i found the cake part to be way too bland. needs more cocoa, a pinch of cinnamon and a dash of salt. the icing was not very fudgelike, either. it's ok. i might make it again w/ the above changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
So Chocolaty and moist - we had to eat little pieces at a time! My neighbors (whom I shared it with) are still raving about it. I changed cocoa to 1/4 cup also (maybe a tad more...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
This recipe did not work for me. The batter turned out very thin. Hard to get cake to bake through. Icing was really good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: High Level, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
This is a great cake and so easy, very moist and my husband loved it. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Waldron, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States