Buttermilk Chocolate Cake with Fudge Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
absolutely fabulous. i added another tbs of cocoa. sooo dense and chocolatey. LDSGirl suggested that you put vinegar into milk to make a buttermilky-type deal, but mama always taught me to squeeze some lemon juice into milk to make it curdle. just make sure not to let any seeds pop in!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Potomac, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
This cake should have 10 stars!!! I made it for my husband's birthday last night. I used a bundt pan (dusting with cocoa powder in lieu of flour) which required about an 20 minutes extra baking time. I then let the cake cool for a few minutes in the pan, and then took it out of the pan to finish cooling while I made the frosting. After the frosting was done, I put the cake back into the bundt pan and then poked holes in the bottom of the cake with a wooden spoon and a fork. I then poured about half the frosting into the holes. I would have let it sit like that for awhile but my husband was coming home so almost immediately I put the cake on the serving plate and then using a basting brush, painted the rest of the frosting onto the top of the cake. Gobs of frosting still pooled into the "hole" of the bundt cake. When my husband took the first bite, he exclaimed - "Oh My God! It's filled with chocolate!" I ***strongly*** recommend using the highest quality of cocoa powder available as it is the only chocolate in the cake. I used Ghiradelli. Also, the batter was quite runny when I poured it into the pan but it cooked up just fine. I also "made" my own buttermilk by adding 1 T. apple cider vinegar to 1 c. milk and letting it set for a few minutes. I also used 1/4 c. cocoa powder in the cake as opposed to just 3 T.. Amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
I didn't bake the cake but just used the icing on my own 13x9 chocolate cake. It was amazing! I wasn't able to get it over the entire cake because it set so quickly, but I'm a slow icer so that's not a surprise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
followed to the letter, very good but 2nd time I made it I used a smaller pan, 8 x 11 and it turned out even better. Icing worked better too as the 9 x 13 was too big to barely cover. I baked 35 mins instead of 30.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
This cake is divine! So moist and tasty. Do not skip the frosting step, it compliments the cake perfectly - it is just not the same cake without it. I have made this cake several times and it has been consistently successful. Just a couple of suggestions: I use a little over 1/4 cup of cocoa powder, instead of 3 tbls. Do not burn your frosting. Properly butter and flour your pan beforehand (I use a 9X13 pan). Do NOT overbake. Take out while still slightly moist on the toothpick (not clean like the recipe says). I shut off oven and let the cake sit in for 5 min max after the slighly moist point. and ENJOY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Haifa, Mehoz Hefa, Israel
Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
Delicious! I made this for a friend's birthday and it was gone within minutes. The frosting I added a bit of icing sugar and real chocolate to which made it even more desirable. I would make this if I were you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
I like this cake, not to sweet. the fudge frosting is very chocolaty and sweet, a great combination! I will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Navarre, Ohio, USA
Living In: Massillon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
WOW! I think I ate the whole thing myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PIF

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
I used the icing on a different cake. It was good, not perfect but good. I actually liked the icing better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
easy recipe, but like others, i found the cake part to be way too bland. needs more cocoa, a pinch of cinnamon and a dash of salt. the icing was not very fudgelike, either. it's ok. i might make it again w/ the above changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States