Buttermilk Chocolate Cake with Fudge Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by shugatoo
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
FABULOUS! My 2.5 year old and I made this together for my husband's birthday. It was easy and delicious. We added slices strawberries on top. My husband thought the strawerries added great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
Yum! So moist & fudgey! I didn't have buttermilk so I used milk, a blob of sour cream & a teaspoon of vinegar in place of it. I also upped the coco powder in the cake to 1/4 cup. I'm glad I did. To avoid the burnt frosting that some complained of, I microwaved it about 2 minutes, stirring a couple of times, instead of on the stove-top. You also could use the double boiler method. I topped mine with nuts because I like nuts. Oh, so YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PatiO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
I tripled this recipe and made a huge multi-layer version as my wedding cake. It was a great success, and i had to print out the recipe 14 times for some of my guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trixie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leipzig, Sachsen, Germany
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
This was just wonderful!! I love fudge so this was the perfect recipe. I love fudge so much tho that I doubled the icing recipe and I would advise everyone to do the same! It's a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LUANNE43
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
Everyone loved the cake. I would've liked it to be more chocolatey. I will add even more cocoa than I did this time the next time I make. It was more of a spongy almost brownie like consistency...not sure if making the conversion for an 18x24 cake worked as it was supposed to or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
This cake is delicious. I used close to a half cup of cocoa powder and it was perfect. Very moist and full of chocolate flavor. The icing really is the perfect compliment to this cake. Great recipe, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
The cake wasn't horrible but it wasn't the best that I've had. It was moist as other users have said but you would definitely want to add more cocoa..I used 1/4 cup..I would also recommend sifting the flour before use or use cake flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi Lareux

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuskegee, Alabama, USA
Living In: Crestview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
absolutely fabulous. i added another tbs of cocoa. sooo dense and chocolatey. LDSGirl suggested that you put vinegar into milk to make a buttermilky-type deal, but mama always taught me to squeeze some lemon juice into milk to make it curdle. just make sure not to let any seeds pop in!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Potomac, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
This cake should have 10 stars!!! I made it for my husband's birthday last night. I used a bundt pan (dusting with cocoa powder in lieu of flour) which required about an 20 minutes extra baking time. I then let the cake cool for a few minutes in the pan, and then took it out of the pan to finish cooling while I made the frosting. After the frosting was done, I put the cake back into the bundt pan and then poked holes in the bottom of the cake with a wooden spoon and a fork. I then poured about half the frosting into the holes. I would have let it sit like that for awhile but my husband was coming home so almost immediately I put the cake on the serving plate and then using a basting brush, painted the rest of the frosting onto the top of the cake. Gobs of frosting still pooled into the "hole" of the bundt cake. When my husband took the first bite, he exclaimed - "Oh My God! It's filled with chocolate!" I ***strongly*** recommend using the highest quality of cocoa powder available as it is the only chocolate in the cake. I used Ghiradelli. Also, the batter was quite runny when I poured it into the pan but it cooked up just fine. I also "made" my own buttermilk by adding 1 T. apple cider vinegar to 1 c. milk and letting it set for a few minutes. I also used 1/4 c. cocoa powder in the cake as opposed to just 3 T.. Amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
I didn't bake the cake but just used the icing on my own 13x9 chocolate cake. It was amazing! I wasn't able to get it over the entire cake because it set so quickly, but I'm a slow icer so that's not a surprise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States