Buttermilk Chocolate Cake with Fudge Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
Overall a very rich and moist cake. I recommend increasing the cocoa powder to at least 1/4 cup, and double the frosting recipe. I also poked holes in cake and frosted while warm (not hot). This cake only gets better as it sets, so make a day ahead of time if possible! Also keep an eye on the time. Mine was done about 5 min before recommended time. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Marren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Alabama, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
It was ok, worked out well and everyone ate it but not the best chocolate cake I've ever tasted so 4/5 - Just not chocolately enough for me I'm afraid!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
I would have given this 5 stars but I altered the recipe slightly. 3 TBSPs cocoa is not enough, I used almost 1/2 cup and it came out wonderfully. I made a layer cake and used the fudge frosting for between the layers and made a chocolate buttercream frosting for the rest. The cake was very moist and stayed that way for the couple days it lasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
I did not like this recipe - just personal taste. My 3 year old ate it, probably because it's sweet with the frosting. My 2 year old did not like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Gables, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
I'm sorry, but this cake did not work for me. It came out bland and spongy. I even added more cocoa powder as people suggested. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ty T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
The cake was good, but not the best i could have. Somehow the cake didn't turn out spongey enough, and was a little soggy (but not very noticable unless you're the baker ;p). It could have been the water cos i'm not familliar wih cakes with hot water in the batter. But the fudge was delicious. I'll definitely use the fudge with another chocolate cake recipe i work well with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Layla

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shugatoo
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
FABULOUS! My 2.5 year old and I made this together for my husband's birthday. It was easy and delicious. We added slices strawberries on top. My husband thought the strawerries added great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
Yum! So moist & fudgey! I didn't have buttermilk so I used milk, a blob of sour cream & a teaspoon of vinegar in place of it. I also upped the coco powder in the cake to 1/4 cup. I'm glad I did. To avoid the burnt frosting that some complained of, I microwaved it about 2 minutes, stirring a couple of times, instead of on the stove-top. You also could use the double boiler method. I topped mine with nuts because I like nuts. Oh, so YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PatiO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
I tripled this recipe and made a huge multi-layer version as my wedding cake. It was a great success, and i had to print out the recipe 14 times for some of my guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trixie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leipzig, Sachsen, Germany
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
This was just wonderful!! I love fudge so this was the perfect recipe. I love fudge so much tho that I doubled the icing recipe and I would advise everyone to do the same! It's a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States