Buttermilk Chess Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
I never fail to get a compliment when I make this pie. Wonderful recipe. I will make this to the day I die.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I make this every year for Thanksgiving for my family, in memory of my grandmother, and it is always a HUGE hit! In fact, I got requests for the pie for Christmas presents! My only modification: Add 1 tsp of cinnamon to the mix before pouring it into the pie shells! Mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
I loved this pie but my husband said it was too "eggy". It certainly didn't stop him from eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Heavenly! I'd forgotten how amazing this childhood classic is. It's like... Southern Creme Brulee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Marmaduke

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Chess pie is my favorite of all and I always ask my aunt to make it for me but since I didn't go home this year I thought I'd try to make it myself. This is a delicious recipe! For those who thought this was to sweet, that's the way chess pie is supposed to be. It's a very sweet, rich pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
This recipe has become one of my families favorites! It is quick to make with ingredients we normally have around the house. I also reduced the sugar to 1 1/2 cups and I doubled the amount of vanilla called for. I am going to try to modify the recipe next time I make it to make a chocolate chess pie. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
The perfect Chess Pie. I got so many compliments, even from someone who has never cared for Chess Pie before. I am so thrilled that I have now replaced a recipe that was lost to our family when my great grandmother passed away. Thanks for posting this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bella2009
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
Hi! I first want to say that this is the first pie I have ever baked! I am not a cook but after Thanksgiving I figured I would give it a try. I have eaten Chess Pie before and loved it. For my first time I was brave to alter the recipe but I did... I added a tablespoon of cornmeal and a teaspoon of white vinegar. Dont ask me why but it sounded good and luckly ended up being GREAT! My mom always added lemon juice to hers but I didnt really enjoy it that way. I cooked mine in a glass deep dish 9" pie dish. I did cook it for about 30 mins longer than suggested and let cool in oven. It was not soupy but set nicely and tasted wonderful. It browned and cracked perfectly on top. Be sure to put foil over the crust before you put it in or it will get too burnt. I remembered about 15 mins after I put it in and it was a hassle getting the foil on there since it was really liquidy and hot. All in all it was a great pie and super easy to make if I could do it. Plus an added bonus my home smells wonderful now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Pie ended up tasting like pound-cake-in-a-crust. Not altogether bad .... just not what I was looking for. I think I just prefer my chess pie more "custardy." UPDATE: 3/14/2012 -- I made this pie for "Pi Day." I'm not sure what I did differently, but this time it was very nicely "custardy," and very eggy (a good thing, for me). It was, though, tooth-achingly sweet, even after reducing the sugar by a half cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
Brought to potluck and coworkers said it was the best buttermilk chess pie they've had yet! Used mexican vanilla in recipe and cooked for 1hr 10 minutes for 1 full-regular pie crust. NOTE: You can get 2 pies out of this recipe using regular sized crust or 1 deep-dish pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States