Buttermilk Chess Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I made this pie for Thanksgiving without changing a thing and the pie was gone before it ever cooled from the oven. I will use this recipe every time I make a buttermilk pie. Thanks Krystina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
I just ate a warm piece of this pie less than 5 minutes ago. Yummy! I read the previous reviews and followed the most common suggestion- less sugar. I used 1 1/2 cups instead of two, and I added a tablespoon of white vinegar because it's called for in my other recipes. My baking time was 55 minutes. I think I could've gotten away with 50, but the other suggestions mentioned much longer cooking times. It just takes a little while to set. I covered the crust edge and removed it at 45 minutes. Next time, I'll gently lay a loose piece of foil over the whole pie to prevent over-browning. Whisk it well, and strain if you're afraid of getting those tiny little egg pieces. Great flavor and texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
My mother and I have an slight craving for the chess pie at a this establishment called Furr's. This tasted almost exactly like it. THANK YOU!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
This was the absolutely delicious! I made it for Father's Day and it was a huge hit. It is very rich so I was able to get 12 servings out of a deep dish pie. I will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Brighton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
This is one of the best pies I have ever tasted. Try adding some coconut. yummmmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
good, but not great. it was much better fresh than leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather M

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joanne M
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Just like Grandma used to make! Followed recipe exactly. This is so simple and really a great tasting finish to a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lorena
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Made too many changes to give this 5*. Only had three eggs, so increased the buttermilk to 1 cup. Added just 1-1/4 cups sugar and it was sweet enough for us, and also cut the amount of butter in half. Also cooked it a bit longer. Great texture, great flavor,... delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vigo, Galicia, Spain
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
This is a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ivy
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
We really loved this pie. My mom & grandma used to make chess pie & it was made with brown sugar. I think I prefer this one. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Markle, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States