Buttermilk Chess Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I made this for Thanksgiving. I wouldn't make it again. I felt the texture should have been silkier. It tasted ok, but it was kind of boring especially for a special occassion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This pie was so GOOD! Took the advise of other and baked about 55 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bethany68

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I have been eating chess pie all my life. My granny made this from a recipe in her head. Unfortunately she cant remember it anymore :( The first time I made this, I felt like it had way to much egg. I adjusted this time. I only did 4 eggs and I also strained the mixture. OMG it worked wonders on this pie. It is PERFECT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I thought this pie was excellent. It may well be my new favorite pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
wow. this is good. VERY sweet- i don't know if i was expecting it to be sooo sweet. might try to cut back on the sugar just little each time i make it & see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
This was simple and a huge hit. I made 10 pies and the reviews I got were all great. Many said it was the best pie they ever had. I did not change a thing, and this recipe made 2/ 9" pies. I made this for a fundraiser bake sale. I made a "test" pie, which was gobbled up. Thanks for the recipe~ it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Very good. Right out of the oven i thought it was too sweet and buttery but once it cooled it was really good... still a tad too sweet but still good considering i couldn't stop nabbin' a piece!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Everyone LOVES this pie. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking-n-MS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MEREDITHRS
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Delicious old fashioned "comfort food". I followed the recipe EXACTLY as written and it turned out AWESOME!!!!! Reminds me of the pie my Aunt Bertha used to make for our family reunions in Cookville, TN!!! Thank you for sharing this WONDERFUL, old time recipe! Definitely a "must bake" pie for your family, too!!! YUM-a-licious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEREDITHRS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States