Buttermilk Chess Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
Yes, it's sweet. Chess pie is supposed to be sweet. ;) I made it exactly as the recipe was written & it turned out great! I didn't have any problems with butter oozing in the middle at all. I'm wondering if those who did, may have used margarine instead of real butter? Or maybe made a deep dish pie, which would have made the custard thicker? I did half the recipe, which was just enough to make one reg. 9 in. pie (not deep dish). And, of course... used my pie shell ring to keep the edges from burning. If you like chess pie, this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
I bake this pie for 1 hour to 1.25 hours. There may be a little "moisture" (i.e. butter!) in the center of the pie when done. I just use a clean paper towel to absorb the extra moisture. I also wrap my pie edges with foil to prevent over browning. And I generally place the empty pie shell on the oven rack, and pour the pie mixture directly into the pie shell, and carefully slide the rack into place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Followed the ingredients exactly... It is a little too sweet but I love it!!! As for the directions... I added foil around the pie crust and baked for 55 minutes. The pie came out golden brown and perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by neilsgrayson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Not bad. It was my first time and like some of the other reviews I did make a slight change. I used 4 eggs instead of 5. It was a little loose in the middle by the end of the 45 min time, but I left it in the oven with the heat turned off and it helped. Once it set it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Please just sprinkle a little nutmeg on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Since it was my first time making this pie, I made two. I altered the recipe for my dad. I replaced 1/3 of the sugar with splenda. Got lots of compliments on the pie. I will make again if requested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cary
Home Town: Alamosa, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
I made it and they did come! Good pie yall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
I am giving this pie 4 stars because it contains too much sugar. I am as southern as it gets when it comes to taste and cooking but this was way too sweet. I will make this again but cutting the sugar in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PEPPERSFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This was way to sweet. But that would've been ok, except that it was also a greasy mess. I'm not sure if my technique was lackingg, but I followed the nixing directions and once the pie started to bake all the butter rose to the top. The pie itself was curdly and not the creamy custard type I was going for. It was so greasy that even after I soaked up the butter pooling in the middle the pie itself is soaked in greas, even the crust. I wished this had worked out, but it was a total flop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Love the taste and texture. Next time will use deep dish crust and I also had to cook for 5 mins longer. Taste just like it did when I was a kid growing up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States