Buttermilk Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
I made 2/3 of the recipe using 1 cup of buttermilk and OF COURSE butter instead of margarine, and made my first loaf of bread with my Kitchen Aid. Other than that I made it exactly as specified, but in one 5" x 9" loaf pan. It was all textbook; the flour quantity incorporated perfectly into a perfect elastic dough. I did spread a little melted butter over the top before baking. I think my oven runs a little warm and it seemed done after a little over 2o minutes. I turned off the oven and left it a little longer, and it came out perfectly. It was wonderful, like the fresh baked farmhouse style bread you used to be able to find in some restaurants. That's not easy to find around Los Angeles anymore. I hate to say perfect again, but I was thrilled with the way it turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALISON17

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
Like Sarah Jo, I also cut recipe in 1/2 and used my K/A mixer too. I used room temp buttermilk and butter vs margarine. I only had Hodgson Mills yeast for wheat bread (a bit more yeast in pkg). I used 1 T honey vs sugar and proofed yeast with honey in warm water. I mixed room temp melted butter and the soda in the buttermilk w/out any salt. I add salt to the flour which I didn't need entire amount of - I still had 1/2 C I didn't use - so I suggest add flour until dough workable. Anyway, my dough struggled to rise using just the oven light so I turned it on for a minute, turned off & the dough finally rose nicely. I added about 1 cup of shredded sharp cheddar but I didn't notice it in finished product so will skip it next time. I also created rolls using a 12 portion muffin pan. I partially baked the rolls as I froze all but 4. The 4 I finished baking off next day were fabulous. Not exactly 'airy' but not dense either. Moist with a nice chew and lovely flavor. Oh, I did add 1 T of minced fresh rosemary and some garlic powder. I think I could have eaten 6 of these at one sitting all on their own, lol. I'm going to make a second batch. Update: 2nd batch (1/2 recipe) I omitted my cheese addition and the rolls turned out lighter and were even better then my 1st stab at this. Thanks Ester for a simple bread or roll recipe you can tweak a little bit without consequences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Very good bread! Used 1/2cup honey instead of sugar. Will def be making again! Excellent rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Smail

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fluffy
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
This bread is spectacular. Soft,great texture,smells wonderful,will definently make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
It is a wonderful recipe! Soft and tender crumb-perfect for hamburger buns as well as dinner rolls and warm loaves from the oven. This is now my "go-to" recipe for homemade sandwich rolls. Stays soft-my son says he asks for hamburgers just to have me make these. The rolls in the picture just came out of the oven, then were brushed with honey butter-yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1horseshay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
This is now my go to recipe for bread! Absolutly fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I did not proof the yeast and I should have. This didn't rise much at all for me. But - I baked what I had and it made for a yummy bread. Would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
I just made this a my boyfriend said that this was the best homemade bread I've made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim806

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ardmore, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I agree this recipe turned out much too dry. Not one I like--I'll go back to my whey recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
It was okay. Even when freshly baked, the buttermilk "tang" was not pronounced and lessened, quickly, over time; a couple days after baking it was just a too sweetish white bread. Watch for over-proofing as with two packs of yeast and a quarter cup of sugar, there'll be a lot (!!!!) of CO2 released. The both rises happen very quickly. Additionally, this is a very dense bread; toast is about what it's good for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States