Buttermilk Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2002
this by far is the best and easiest bread recipe i have used. I have made alot of bread in my life but OH-MY I just can't stop raving about it. This will be a big hit where ever i take it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
I am usually not a white bread fan, but this one is really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
I love making bread and this is a wonderful recipe.The bread is nice and soft even after I added 1 cup of white whole wheat flour for 1 of the cups of bread flour.I also used 4Tbs. pwd. buttermilk and 1 1/2 cups of warm water for the buttermilk.Made 6 mini loaves. Thanks Esther!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
This is a keeper. Real easy and my boyfriend loves it. I'll be making it again today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
This bread was fabulous. I have been making bread for a while now and I love to try new recipes. Even though I did not have buttermilk, I substituted it with 1 1/2 cups of milk with 1 1/2 tablespoons of vinegar (let stand for 5 minutes). I was very pleased with the outcome. It was moist and hearty. My family devoured it in less than two days. I was also able to enjoy a slice for toast and it was tasty. I will definitely be making this again and again! Thank you Esther.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2003
Wonderful! Everyone loved it! Don't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy (AZ)

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2003
This bread was so good toasted with butter and jelly, it was also very good with soup and alone. Nice change from *harder?* wheat breads. Definetly keeping this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2003
I love this bread! It is light with a subtle buttermilk flavor. I halved the recipe and then split the dough to make two small bagettes. I brushed butter over them before baking for 30 minutes. The crust came out flaky and totally yummy. Esther, you are a genius! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2003
This is a great buttermilk bread recipe. I made it in my bread machine with only minor changes in preparation. I melted the margarine and let it cool, heated the buttermilk and let it cool and then put all the liquids into the bread machine. Then I added all the other dry ingredients (except yeast) sifted together. I did substitute sea salt for the regular salt and my yeast didn't have a weight listed so I used 1 3/4 tsp. I added yeast last, in an indentation in the other dry ingredients, and cooked it as a 2 lb. white loaf with medium crust. My children (aged 5 & 7) said that I made "the best bread ever". Their mother loves it too and will be making it frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2004
We LOVED this. It reminds be of the soft, hot bread you get at finer Italian restaurants. This recipe is a KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States