Buttermilk Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
I am usually not a white bread fan, but this one is really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2002
this by far is the best and easiest bread recipe i have used. I have made alot of bread in my life but OH-MY I just can't stop raving about it. This will be a big hit where ever i take it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2003
I love this bread! It is light with a subtle buttermilk flavor. I halved the recipe and then split the dough to make two small bagettes. I brushed butter over them before baking for 30 minutes. The crust came out flaky and totally yummy. Esther, you are a genius! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
I love making bread and this is a wonderful recipe.The bread is nice and soft even after I added 1 cup of white whole wheat flour for 1 of the cups of bread flour.I also used 4Tbs. pwd. buttermilk and 1 1/2 cups of warm water for the buttermilk.Made 6 mini loaves. Thanks Esther!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
This is a keeper. Real easy and my boyfriend loves it. I'll be making it again today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
This bread was fabulous. I have been making bread for a while now and I love to try new recipes. Even though I did not have buttermilk, I substituted it with 1 1/2 cups of milk with 1 1/2 tablespoons of vinegar (let stand for 5 minutes). I was very pleased with the outcome. It was moist and hearty. My family devoured it in less than two days. I was also able to enjoy a slice for toast and it was tasty. I will definitely be making this again and again! Thank you Esther.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2003
Wonderful! Everyone loved it! Don't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy (AZ)

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2003
This bread was so good toasted with butter and jelly, it was also very good with soup and alone. Nice change from *harder?* wheat breads. Definetly keeping this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2003
This is a great buttermilk bread recipe. I made it in my bread machine with only minor changes in preparation. I melted the margarine and let it cool, heated the buttermilk and let it cool and then put all the liquids into the bread machine. Then I added all the other dry ingredients (except yeast) sifted together. I did substitute sea salt for the regular salt and my yeast didn't have a weight listed so I used 1 3/4 tsp. I added yeast last, in an indentation in the other dry ingredients, and cooked it as a 2 lb. white loaf with medium crust. My children (aged 5 & 7) said that I made "the best bread ever". Their mother loves it too and will be making it frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2004
We LOVED this. It reminds be of the soft, hot bread you get at finer Italian restaurants. This recipe is a KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States