Buttermilk Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
I like this recipe, but I have made a few changes. I use 1/2 cup of honey instead of the 1/4 cup of sugar, I love honey sweetened bread. I also add 2 eggs. I think they help the texture of the bread, this means you need some additional flour and it will make 3 smaller loaves or two larger ones. And, I knead the bread for 10 minutes in my mixer before I let it rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Western, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
I'm always looking for recipes to use up buttermilk left from making butter. This turned out excellent! I used butter instead of margarine and being a lazy cook, I dumped all the ingredients into my mixer bowl and used the dough hooks for 8 minutes. Let it rise and made hamburger buns out of it. Let the formed buns rise for another 30 minutes, popped them in the oven for 12 minutes or so and YUM!! They rose nice and tall with a soft texture and were delicious. Thanks for the recipe, it'll be one of my keepers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2002
This bread was good but a little dry. I halved it and used my bread machine. Next time, I will make as directed to see if it is not as dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
I am usually not a white bread fan, but this one is really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I cut this recipe in half and used my Kitchen Aid to make this dough. I proofed the yeast in my mixer bowl with the warm water and sugar for ten minutes until it looked creamy, then added the "soured" milk (I didn't want to take the chance that vinegar soured milk might kill my yeast--I used lemon juice to make sour milk this time.), the melted butter, salt and AP flour. (I omitted the baking soda purely by accident, I just happened to overlook it when I was making the bread.) This recipe needed no extra flour to get it into a ball. I kneaded it with my dough hook for about five minutes. I let this rise in a greased bowl on a warm heating pad until it doubled, then formed the dough into balls and plopped them into greased muffin tins. I then covered it with saran wrap and let them rise in the pan on the warm heating pad. I got nine biggish rolls out of a halved recipe. Very good bread/roll recipe--soft and really airy. It's going to sound weird but it reminds me of italian bread only without the hard crust on the outside, if that makes sense. NOTE: I noticed the difference from using soured milk instead of buttermilk, I will use the real deal next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2005
Did not proof the yeast. Just tossed everything in the bread machine (halved the recipe). The smell while it was baking was devine and it was gobbled up for a late night snack by the kids. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2002
this by far is the best and easiest bread recipe i have used. I have made alot of bread in my life but OH-MY I just can't stop raving about it. This will be a big hit where ever i take it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2001
A keeper recipe for a classic bread. I halved the recipe and used my bread machine. We loved it. I've found that doughs (such as this recipe) with higher moisture content, bake up in the bread machine, with a denser texture, as opposed to a fluffy/spongy consistency---more like old fashioned home made bread. Will try a slice tomorrow for breakfast, as toast to accompany a mug of rich hot chocolate. Thanks Esther.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
Great recipe! I've made several times and turned out wonderful every time. I used my mixer with the dough hook and then kneaded by hand for a few minutes. The bread has a wonderful texture and taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2001
this bread is AWESOME! it has a beautiful thick crusty crust nice color and TENDER great w/butter and w/out. slices great too. def a recipe to keep, thankyou!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States