Buttermilk Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
This bread is fantastic! The only thing I did different is use butter, because I never use margarine. We loved this bread, it stays moist and delicious for days and does make great toast as one reviewer mentioned. This has become one of my favorite bread recipes. Thank you Esther!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
Excellent sandwich bread. I use SAF red label instant yeast and don't proof the yeast but mix it directly with the flour. You have to heat the liquid a bit warmer(120-130) but it is a time saver. I also bake mine at 350 and start watching it after 25 minutes. I like a lightly browned crust. I use powdered buttermilk which is great because you can have it on hand all the time. All in all this is a wonderful recipe. Simple and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
This bread dough was so easy to work with!! The flavor and texture came out wonderful, I did add 1 1/2 cups of wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARITYBOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2005
This is the best bread! It stays moist for days (if we don't eat it all within minutes!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
Pretty good bread. I used regular, all purpose flour and it worked just fine. It was a bit too sweet from me, so I'll use half the sugar next time, but I'm used to sourdough bread, so it is probably fine for the rest. Also, I'll let the bread rise a second time in the pans as to get fuller loafs. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Canyon, Arizona, USA
Living In: Crater Lake, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
awesome recipe!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I was so curious to try buttermilk in the bread recipe, and somehow came across this one. I used real butter and low fat buttermilk, making 8 rolls and 1 loaf. The taste and the texture are unbeatable. Thank you so much. P.S. I'm a soapmaker, so I used my digital scale to weigh the bread flour. I use 770 grams :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2004
Best I make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther Kenagy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worthington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
Moist, tender and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2004
This bread has a beautiful texture and flavour. It keeps well for many days. It also makes the best grilled cheese on toast when it's a few days old. I will continue to make this regularly. My husband loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2004
This bread is gret tasting and easy to make! It would be a five star if it didn't condense overnight! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States