Buttermilk Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
As a bread, it looked like bread. But the taste isn't for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRASH5456

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wiarton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Very good recipe to use up leftover buttermilk. It's a different kind of bread than I'm use too, but I still loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
I can't tell you how much my family loves this bread. the entire family watches the oven door until it comes out...the only way to let this bread cool completly, is to make it when the house is empty. Even then I've never had the bread last more than 1 day. Great recipe, thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
Simply divine. I was in the mood for a slightly sweeter bread, so I added 3T honey, increased the baking soda to 1T, and reduced cooking time to 28 min (though still had to cover the bread with foil -- started browning way early). Very tasty -- going back for my second piece!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Absolutely fabulous flavor and texture. I used powdered buttermilk in lieu of liquid. I halved the recipe, used fast rising yeast and baked in my Zoji machine using the quick bake option. This recipe is a KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
I scaled the recipe in half down to 12 servings and let my bread machine do all the work. I started with the basic cycle and set it to 1.5 pound with light crust. This is an amazing bread recipe. I can clearly taste the butter and the buttermilk adds such tenderness to the final product. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Awesome! I had a bunch of buttermilk to use and I found this recipe. We love homemade bread so this was great. I switched sugar for honey and added 1/2c oat bran and switched out 2 cups flour for white whole wheat flour. The bread rises nice and high. I made mine in to hamburger/sandwich rolls and knots. Today I will make a loaf and more rolls since I still have a bunch of buttermilk to use. Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Daus

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pompey, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
This recipe makes a wonderfully, moist and great tasting bread. I did replace 2 cups of bread flour with 2 cups of whole wheat flour. My 5-year old grandson must have eaten 5 or 6 slices! Then the next time I saw him he asked if I had brought more bread with me! Now look what I started! Thanks ERBK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oostburg, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Outstanding .... that's all that needs be said ... outstanding :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
This delicious recipe has the flavor of a buttermilk biscuit, thanks to the addition of baking soda. I made a few changes, but it still turned out wonderful. I didn't have buttermilk, so I used reduced-fat sour cream instead. I also used 1/2 white whole wheat flour. These changes probably added some density to the bread, but still turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States