Buttermilk Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This is my go to recipe. I use butter instead of margarine, but other than that, we love this recipe. I have never had any problem with it being dry. I made it for a church potluck and got MANY complements on it. I love the aroma of it baking and it just is a very easy and comforting recipe. Yum! I also use this for cinnamon raisin bread. When mixing add 1 tsp vanilla and 1 c raisins (more or less to your liking). Before placing in the well greased pans roll out to get any air bubbles out and butter (you don't have to) then mix 3 -4 T sugar with 1 t cinnamon) sprinkle liberally. Place in pan let raise. Bake as usual. I have made this without the vanilla and it's okay, the vanilla just gives it a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
OMG!!! Thank you Esther for this absolutely fabulous buttermilk bread. This is the best tasting bread I've ever made. And, it was so easy too!!! Thank you, thank you, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
A very good basic bread for daily use. I used butter instead of margarine. When I make it again I will add an egg for richness like another reviewer suggested. I used two 9" loaf pans and it rose and filled them just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dalton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Troy, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
This bread is so delicious! I used salted butter, not margarine for this recipe. I warmed the butter and buttermilk together and added it to the yeast that was proofing in the warm water. Instead of white sugar, I used a 1/2 cup of pure honey. I let it sit a few minutes more while I mixed the dry ingredients together. I used about 1 1/2 tsp of salt since there was already salted butter. Once I mixed everything together by hand, it took the bread an hour to rise up. I halved the dough into 2 loaves. I placed them each into two greased (buttered) loaf pans. It rose again about half hour later. I then brushed the top of the bread with, "Honey Butter," from this website. The smell of the bread baking was so heavenly! They both baked right up in the pans with a nice golden brown color on top. The top of the bread is crusty and has a nice sweet crispness to it. I thought the buttermilk might leave that bit of "sour tang" in the bread but it did not. Instead I could smell and taste the buttermilk as well as the honey...Mmmm. The bread is just so moist and sweet especially when eaten warm. The inside texture is so soft I could eat it plain with no butter. My family requested that I make a honey butter to spread all over their bread. It was worth making this bread. This exceeded my expectations and we all loved it! I served this with, "Hearty Chicken Vegetable Soup I," from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
This turned out so well. I was a little concerned while mixing in the flour that it might end up on the dry side but it was perfect. I used just under 5 cups of flour total and thought the dough seemed a little dry but after working with it and letting it rise, it baked up beautifully. Perfect to slice and toast! Add your flour gradually as it states. You might not need to add it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I have tried multiple bread recipes and this one is BY FAR the best. I followed the recipe as closely as possible. It's moist, fluffy and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LROSM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I cut the recipe in half and made a single loaf of this in my bread machine on the basic 3 hour cycle....absolutely fabulous. I did add one egg to the recipe and it was wonderful. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCRIBEFORGOD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hannibal, Missouri, USA
Living In: Monroe City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Great basic bread recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenbeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
You should have a warning on this bread! I just took it out of the oven and it was gone in 30 minutes. I have to make more so we have something for sandwiches tomorrow. The texture was amazing, the taste was incredible and the crust was spectacular. This is my new recipe and I am throwing all of the others out. Thank you for posting this delectable treat! It was a smash hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
This bread was very moist. I actually substituted the bread flour for 1 c. of whole white wheat flour, 1 1/2 c. of brown rice flour and the rest unbleached flour. My family loves it! My kids want toast all of the time. I will be making this again. I forgot to put in the 2nd package of yeast and it still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States