Buttermilk Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2000
I increase buttermilk to 1 3/4 cups. I also mix several batches of the dry ingredients (not including yeast) and store it in disposable containders in my pantry. When it is time to make a loaf, the buttermilk, butter, and yeast are a snap to add!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
Delicious is an understatement for this recipe. I can't make it fast enough for my family. Its tasty for toast, too. I add 2T vital wheat gluten and get a nice high, tight textured, dense bread with awesome flavor. What more can be said about this recipe? Just follow the directions and let your bread machine do its work. I set my machine for the dough cycle, then take the dough out, shape it, place it in a 9X5 pan, then bake at 375 degrees for 33 minutes exactly.I just sit back and wait for a pefect loaf every time!Thanks, Debbie. I will make this again and again and again.....;0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2001
This is the first loaf of bread where my husband admitted that he was glad we got a bread machine. Great for my left over buttermilk from holiday baking!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
I think there is a mistake in this recipe...I only added 1/3 cup wheat flour to this and it worked fine. Use only 1/3 cup and it will turn out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick Luce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2000
I have had mixed success with two bread machines now, but this recipe has proven itself time and again. Plus it solves the riddle of what to do with leftover buttermilk from my holiday baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dahlia Travers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Solvang, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2004
This bread was excellent. However, based on other reviews and other bread machine recipes I have made, I lowered the bread flour to 2 cups and added 2 T. of Gluten. The bread was moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2002
I tried this today and boy it flopped. I used my bread machine and added ingredients in order listed and my bread machine(got for Christmas) couldn't even get it to mix all the way it was so dry. Much of it stuck to the pan and the rest never did get mixed even close to what it should have been. Maybe my bread machine needed the ingredients assembled differently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2001
This is one of THE best bread recipies I've found in many years of baking bread. It is as moist as 'store-bought', which my kids do prefer. We make the dough in the bread machine, then divide the dough into 2 bread pans. Then we cover it with plastic plastic wrap and put it to rise in the refrigerator overnight. By morning, it is perfect for baking in the oven (350 for 35 min 'til internal temp of 190 degrees). Also, it's the perfect recipe for white bread. Just substitute white bread flour for the rye. Thanks very much for sharing this great recipe. Love the sour rye flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2005
A big gloppy mess! WAY too much flour. Had to throw the entire thing away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2000
Nice flavor! Light texture, the family loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States