Buttermilk Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
I also changed this recipe reversing the quantities of flour (1 1/3 cup bread flour, 2 2/3 cups wheat flour) , added 2 tablespoons of vital wheat gluten and switched the sugar for three tablespoon of honey. I did not sweat the extra 1/4 teaspoon of yeast - just used the usual 2 teaspoon packet of yeast. I have a two-paddle, horizontal pan Zojirushi bread machine. I used the basic wheat setting. The bread turned out great! Very moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
I don't know about other's bread machines but this is definitely too much flour for mine. I used 1/3 cup of whole wheat. I make a lot of bread and you have to have the dough the consistency of soft play dough without being sticky. So you have to go by the feel sometimes instead of how much flour or liquid is called for. But this is a good bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Ok...this bread is FANTASTIC. BUT, you HAVE to lower the amount of wheat flour from 1 1/3 cup to 1/2 cup. Too much flour. I could just tell by the recipe that it calls for too much. I used the same amount of bread flour and added 1/2 cup of ww flour and it was DIVINE. SO SO GOOD. My kids DEVOURED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snazzygina
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
This recipe is not good at tall. I did what it said for a 1lb and and I let it do its thing and all it is, is flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
hi maggi, yu said you added 2T vital wheat gluten to buttermilk bread however I cannot find wheat glute, where can I get this as the bread is fab but a little heavy\thanks caz
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
I think there is a mistake in this recipe...I only added 1/3 cup wheat flour to this and it worked fine. Use only 1/3 cup and it will turn out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
I made this recipe just as it was written and it worked great in my old tempermental breadmaker. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2005
A big gloppy mess! WAY too much flour. Had to throw the entire thing away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2004
I made the bread dough and then baked buns in the oven for a shredded bbq beef sandwich. The bread was moist and delicious. Very filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2004
This bread was excellent. However, based on other reviews and other bread machine recipes I have made, I lowered the bread flour to 2 cups and added 2 T. of Gluten. The bread was moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States