Buttermilk Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Love this loaf!!! Made it yesterday and must say that I think it is the best bread recipe that I have ever tried. Made it using the recipe exactly as it is and have another loaf on today...to take to a family get-together tomorrow. Thanks for sharing this recipe Debbie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Absolutely love this bread it's the best when you make grilled cheese sandwiches with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SIMBA1969

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Love this recipe. I listened to many other reviewers and decreased the amount of flour used (3 cups bread flour and 1/2 cup of wheat flour) and added vital wheat gluten (2 Tablespoons the first time 1.5 thereafter). We love the bread. It is now my regular sandwich loaf recipe. Consistency is really nice, not too crumbly, perfect moisture level. I bake on the Basic bread cycle with medium crust. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
This is our fave bread machine recipe. I increased the buttermilk amount to 1-3/4 cups (I zap it for 45 sec in the microwave to warm) and I reduce the wheat flour to 1 cup. I set my Cuisinart to large loaf, light crust and it turns out perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
I followed recipe exactly and started my bread machine. It was hopping all over the counter and making a lot of noise. The dough was like cement. I added about 1/4 cup milk and it thinned out and started to knead normally. I left it on the counter in the same spot I always place it when making bread. About 10 minutes later, I heard a tremendous crash. The bread machine had vibrated off the counter to the floor and shattered. Dough, glass, metal and plastic everywhere. It flew into the hallway and two adjacent rooms. Lucky, no damage to my mexican tile floor. Dangerous recipe and expensive too, includes the cost of a new bread machine. Obviously, this recipe needs more liquid or less flour. Good luck if you still dare to try it.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
This recipe definitely has too much flour--3 1/2 cups of flour is generally about as much flour as you need in order to make a loaf of bread--unless you've got some extreme humidity going on. So, I, too, adjusted the recipe to decrease some of that flour. It turned out perfectly: a nice sour flavor wit a moist crumb. Perfect for toast or sandwiches. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Wanna try a vegan version? Use 1 and 1/8 cup of coconut milk and 1/2cup of soy milk. Use 3 Tablespoons of Earth Balance butter in place of the 1.5 Tablespoons of margin. I also use agave in place of the sugar. Its the best wheat bread ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
This bread was fantastic! I completely omitted the whole wheat and did not replace it with anything else.The 3 cups of bread flour was just perfect. I increased the sugar by 1 tsp. I used a stick of butter. I cut it into 6 slices putting two in the bottom with the buttermilk and then used the remaining 4 slices on the top after the flour in each corner of my bread maker! I used the white/light setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
I just tried making this bread and it was a disaster. I make several loaves of bread a week and I think the previous rating was right about WAY to much flour. My bread machine smelled like it was burning. I have a big machine that makes a 2 pound loaf. As soon as I took the dough out the blade starting turning. I found a similar recipe on here that only uses 1/3 of wheat flour. I think I may try that one. Would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Yes too much flour but I added some water until the right consistency...it is very good and very squishable....Did NOT use Gluten and it turned out perfect and very tasty. Thank you! I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States