Buttermilk Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2000
Nice flavor! Light texture, the family loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2000
What a great way to finish a quart of buttermilk! Couldn't be easier or better tasting. Our loaf was gone in a flash!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2000
I have had mixed success with two bread machines now, but this recipe has proven itself time and again. Plus it solves the riddle of what to do with leftover buttermilk from my holiday baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dahlia Travers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Solvang, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2000
I had a taste for onion bread, but did not have have powdered milk called for in most recipes. I did have buttermilk and decided to improvise. I added 1/2 packet onion soup mix, a little onion powder and some dried minced onions. I added a little water, as it was mixing up a little dry (maybe from the powder in the onion soup mix) and it turned out to be a delicious onion bread...this recipe is very adaptable and delicious. Next time I will try the original recipe!! Ginger
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2000
I increase buttermilk to 1 3/4 cups. I also mix several batches of the dry ingredients (not including yeast) and store it in disposable containders in my pantry. When it is time to make a loaf, the buttermilk, butter, and yeast are a snap to add!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2001
This is one of THE best bread recipies I've found in many years of baking bread. It is as moist as 'store-bought', which my kids do prefer. We make the dough in the bread machine, then divide the dough into 2 bread pans. Then we cover it with plastic plastic wrap and put it to rise in the refrigerator overnight. By morning, it is perfect for baking in the oven (350 for 35 min 'til internal temp of 190 degrees). Also, it's the perfect recipe for white bread. Just substitute white bread flour for the rye. Thanks very much for sharing this great recipe. Love the sour rye flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
Delicious is an understatement for this recipe. I can't make it fast enough for my family. Its tasty for toast, too. I add 2T vital wheat gluten and get a nice high, tight textured, dense bread with awesome flavor. What more can be said about this recipe? Just follow the directions and let your bread machine do its work. I set my machine for the dough cycle, then take the dough out, shape it, place it in a 9X5 pan, then bake at 375 degrees for 33 minutes exactly.I just sit back and wait for a pefect loaf every time!Thanks, Debbie. I will make this again and again and again.....;0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2004
This bread was excellent. However, based on other reviews and other bread machine recipes I have made, I lowered the bread flour to 2 cups and added 2 T. of Gluten. The bread was moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
I made this recipe just as it was written and it worked great in my old tempermental breadmaker. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Ok...this bread is FANTASTIC. BUT, you HAVE to lower the amount of wheat flour from 1 1/3 cup to 1/2 cup. Too much flour. I could just tell by the recipe that it calls for too much. I used the same amount of bread flour and added 1/2 cup of ww flour and it was DIVINE. SO SO GOOD. My kids DEVOURED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snazzygina

Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States