Buttermilk Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2004
I made this into 3 mini loaves and baked them in my oven at 375. The taste of this bread is very good, and it rises well too, especially if you add some gluten (I added 2 T.) I also added 2 T. dry milk powder for a little extra sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2004
Whoever wrote this recipe didn't scale it right, it does NOT fit in a 1.5 lb. machine. There's only supposed to be 3 total cups of flour for a 1.5 lb. recipe, and I knew that, but I went ahead and tried this recipe as written anyway. Big mistake! My machine couldn't even mix it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2004
A very dense bread, with just a hint of buttermilk taste. Just the way I like my bread. Try it if you like dense bread, and don't be skeptical about the 2 1/4 t yeast: they are needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2003
I was not pleased with this recipe at all. I even added the gluten to mine. The dough didn't seem to mix up well, and the finished result looked awful. Won't try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
Delicious is an understatement for this recipe. I can't make it fast enough for my family. Its tasty for toast, too. I add 2T vital wheat gluten and get a nice high, tight textured, dense bread with awesome flavor. What more can be said about this recipe? Just follow the directions and let your bread machine do its work. I set my machine for the dough cycle, then take the dough out, shape it, place it in a 9X5 pan, then bake at 375 degrees for 33 minutes exactly.I just sit back and wait for a pefect loaf every time!Thanks, Debbie. I will make this again and again and again.....;0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2002
I tried this today and boy it flopped. I used my bread machine and added ingredients in order listed and my bread machine(got for Christmas) couldn't even get it to mix all the way it was so dry. Much of it stuck to the pan and the rest never did get mixed even close to what it should have been. Maybe my bread machine needed the ingredients assembled differently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2001
This is the first loaf of bread where my husband admitted that he was glad we got a bread machine. Great for my left over buttermilk from holiday baking!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2001
We have found this bread to be rather dry. It has a nice flavor, but it's pretty hard and difficult to use for much of anything besides toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2001
This is one of THE best bread recipies I've found in many years of baking bread. It is as moist as 'store-bought', which my kids do prefer. We make the dough in the bread machine, then divide the dough into 2 bread pans. Then we cover it with plastic plastic wrap and put it to rise in the refrigerator overnight. By morning, it is perfect for baking in the oven (350 for 35 min 'til internal temp of 190 degrees). Also, it's the perfect recipe for white bread. Just substitute white bread flour for the rye. Thanks very much for sharing this great recipe. Love the sour rye flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2001
A bit heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States