Buttermilk Biscuits III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
i made these today and i am pretty sure i got everything right and they turned out flat no fluffy i must have done something wrong so right now i am gonna give this 2 star until i try again thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MandaSuthrnChf
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Great taste, very much like Cracker Barrel in taste. Just 5 more minutes in prep than easy drop biscuits, why not make them? Mine were a wee bit flat because I was out of baking powder, but still fluffy inside. Also, I baked them at 350 instead of 400 to ensure the bottoms didn't get too crispy. Tip: Use whole buttermilk, not the fat free kind. This gives them a more authentic taste that is memorable. Exactly the same kind of biscuits made in Appalachia for a century.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MandaSuthrnChf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gatlinburg, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
I made these as directed. For the self rising flour, I used the recipe from this site because I could not find it at the store. The biscuits were pretty easy and quick to make, but the finished product was not as flavorful as I hoped. They were pretty bland by themselves. However, I am still rating this 4 stars because if you put some honey on them and serve them warm, they are really quite good. I can also see them being served with gravy or perhaps some kind of chicken and dumpling mixture and being good that way too. I just don't recommend eating them by themselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2011
there were light and fluffy and really yummy. i used plain yoghurt as i didnt have any buttermilk, worked fine, i thought next time i would try flavoured yoghurt for a sweet one. =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Poppet50c

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waitakere , Auckland, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Great biscuits - very easy to make. I cut the recipe in half and used butter-flavored shortening and upped the sugar to a Tbsp. After mixing the dough together I let it set in the fridge for a few hours before rolling it out and cuttting it. I didn't brush the biscuits with buttermilk, but with melted butter during the last five minutes of baking. They come out light, moist, and fluffy. Plus they rise nice and high. Overall, very good especially the next day with butter and jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
I love these biscuits, next time I make them I'll probably add some more sugar just to sweeten it a tad to suit my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
These are NOT buttermilk biscuits like a restaurant, Paula Deen or Grandma! There is WAY too much buttermilk, the mix is SO wet that you have to keep adding flour, so much so that you end up with a tough biscuit because of having to work with it. I've baked for many years, have a Southern Grandma and father. I HAD to make this recipe with my daughter for a Girl Scout project. I would never make it again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
So simple and easy to make! I rolled mine out thick and got thick biscuits. About 2" thick. Also, I did not have shortening, so I used vegetable oil. They were not as fluffy as my grandmother used to make them, but still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TraciesSister526

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
These were good biscuits, however they were not as light & fluffy as I had hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riverjess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
These were incredibly bland - an okay vehicle for strawberries, jam, molasses, or honey, but very disappointing on their own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States