Buttermilk Biscuits II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
I did cut the sugar in half because I was making them for biscuits and gravy and didn't want them too sweet. I also used dbrick's substitution for the self-rising flour (For each cup of self-rising flour, use 1 c. all-purpose flour, 1 1/3 t. baking powder and 1/3 t. salt.) Using the large Pampered Chef scoop to drop the dough on the floured surface, I ended up with a dozen biscuits. They really spread into each other and I prefer a biscuit with a little more form to it so I might increase the flour a little and/or squeeze them in more closely so they rise instead of spreading out. Otherwise, we ended up with a nice, fluffy biscuit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellerbunch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bethany Tolley
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Perfect biscuits! I cut the sugar in half and these ended up being the best biscuits I have ever eaten. My kids had three servings! I set the oven to 400F after reading some other reviews and the biscuits cooked perfectly. I used 8 inch cake pans and fit four biscuits in each pan. Keeping this recipe and passing it along to my little ones when they are grown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA
Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
This is my first time writing a review. But this I felt need to because this recipe is amazzzzing !!! I follow the advice of others: by not using the cookie sheet, I used a glass pie pan. I didn't have buttermilk or self rising flour. For the buttermilk a cup of milk with 1 tablespoon of vinegar and for the self rising flour a cup of all purpose flour with 1 1/3 teaspoon of baking powder and 1/3 teaspoon of salt. I also didn't used all required sugar. I def will make again. The shortening and heavy cream makes them soo fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Love this recipe didn't change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Use the shaping instructions from Johnnies Bisciuts on this site, These biscuits are very light and fluffy and sweet. I'll use them for shortcakes next time I want strawberry shortcake for dessert . I'd reduce the sugar to 1 to 2 Tbsp for dinner biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Oh I made these and they are just tasty yum. I wouldnt change one thing to this recipe at all. thank you for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
I am afraid to even try these without using baking soda or baking powder, how can they raise?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Not sure what the bad reviewer did wrong but these biscuits are so good. I love them. They are tender, nice flavor, fluffy, and buttery. Keeper file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Excellent biscuit! I have been using this recipe since 1998. However, I use 2 T. of sugar, 1 c. of buttermilk and 1/3 c. of cream. Place all-purpose flour in a flat dish, scoop sticky dough onto flour, dust and pick up in hand and form biscuit. Handle very little. Place biscuits next to each other TOUCHING in greased pan! Brush with melted butter when removing from oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
These biscuits were delish, I made them for lunch to serve as the outer of our sausage and egg sandwich and both my husband and his friend couldn't get over how moist and tasty they were. I also found the recipe very easy to follow although I did use regular flour with some baking powder added. I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Petawawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

7-Up Biscuits

See how to turn four basic ingredients into light, fluffy biscuits.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States