Buttermilk Biscuits I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
'Added cooked (ground) sausage, precooked weight about half pound. 'Made these & "Best Buttermilk Biscuits". These are better than those, but to say they're better than best would be too much. Kidding, kidding. I'll try 'em again without the sausage to have a more fair review; but, when adding sausage, I'll add the whole pound. I forgot to brush with buttermilk, but I will next time. 'Sounds good. These appear cobbled like the photo. That's not a bad thing, just something I noticed compared to others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Really good flavor and texture, though took longer than 15 minutes to brown up. Used honey instead of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I thought I might be disappointed with these since I’ve grown to like biscuits made with butter. I wasn’t disappointed at all tho’ I did, however, brush them with melted butter and dill before baking, and again with melted butter once they came out of the oven. These were quite flavorful, light, fluffy, tall and tender. I don’t know what more you could ask for in a biscuit. Oh – do not add salt. Self-rising flour already contains it and these biscuits have just the right level of salt to enhance the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Not my grandmother's biscuits but very good. I added about 1/2 teaspoon of salt to give the biscuits more flavor. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
I made these biscuits for breakfast this morning and they were wonderful. I have tried so many recipes before and I really like this one. This will be the one that I use from now on, thanks SAUNDRA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs.B
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Turned out wonderful. Soft, flaky and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Centerburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
These are so easy and delish! I use "butter flavored" shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
The biscuits came out light, flaky, not dry at all. But the taste lacks something, maybe salt. It's a good starting point to make adjustments to your own taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I like this recipe for biscuits! We did not access to butter at the time these were made so it was great! However, I think I will cut back on the amount of buttermilk used in the recipe, once it was mixed in, the dough was a little too moist for a bread product, and I needed to add more flour (which I know is normal in any bread recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
A great recipe! If you haven't made biscuits much, the sticky dough will throw you off! Don't worry, it should be sticky! The stickier the dough, the better the finished product. Just wash your hands, you'll be fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States