Buttermilk Biscuits I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2000
My buttermilk went sour on me, so I tried regular milk. They still tasted great & were very easy to make. My 14 year old daughter ended up making them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2000
Do not make these biscuits. You will eat too many of them and become large. They're wonderful! I used sifted whole spelt flour (very similar to whole wheat), 1/2 cup of butter and only needed 1 cup of buttermilk. I rated the "Kid Friendly" five stars. I'm 15. Am I still a kid?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2001
Last night I was looking for a simple recipe for biscuits and I found a winner. I didn't have self-rising flour, so I used regular flour and added one cup of bisquick to it. I also added a little extra sugar. Be sure when you are rolling the dough out you don't roll it too thin, as your biscuits won't be as fluffy. I also drizzled a little butter over the top before baking and they came out wonderful. I was very pleased with them, as I have been known to bake hockey pucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2001
Made this recipe with dinner & it was a HUGE hit! So easy to make, too. Threw all the ingredients into my foodprocessor. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2001
GREAT!!!//////
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2001
These biscuits are delicious! I've tried many recipes to find the perfect texture and these are the ones! I used heavy cream instead of buttermilk. I also let them sit on the sheet pan for about a half hour before baking and that caused them to puff a little and rise very nicely when baked. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parlin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2001
Thank you Saundra, you are right, the biscuits are easy and delicious but you forgot one thing... they are addictive..MMMMMM SO GOOD TOO Everyone enjoyed them, will make them often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2002
All I can say about these are "WONDERFUL!" I had been looking for a recipe that tasted like old fashioned biscuits and this was it. The only thing I changed was brushing the tops with butter instead of buttermilk. We loved the buttery salty taste on top of the biscuits. These rose beautifully. Looked like the ones on TV. Picture and taste perfect. OH and these freeze great! I tested them. I got to the cut dough part and froze individually on a sheet and put in bag. Then when I wanted a couple I just put directly in oven and baked as instructed. Yum!!!! Thank Sandra for posting this recipe. Sherry from Tennessee
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
I've tried making buttermilk biscuit for several times, and this recipe is the best I've had so far. The texture was so soft and moist. I didn't roll out the dough cause I was in a hurry preparing dinner, instead I used a 1/3 cup to spoon out the dough and made it a drop-biscuit (instead of roll-out biscuit). Thanks for sharing this WONDERFUL recipe. Will make & bake again anytime soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THUNDERKATZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA
Living In: Surabaya, Jawa Timur, Indonesia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
These were awesome!! I am usuallya bisquick gal bc its so easy but these are just as easy only better. They did lack a little in flavour if you plan on using them with a butter/preserve mix but if using with gravy they are awesome. A definate keeper that I will experiment with to add more flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States