Buttermilk Biscuits I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
These biscuits are quite good—light, fluffy, and tender—but just a smidge short of the biscuit nirvana I'm searching for. I will try making them again but topping them with butter. I do think that the people who rated this recipe poorly likely used all-purpose flour instead of self-rising flour; self-rising flour contains both baking powder and salt, and a biscuit without salt would truly be wretched. If you don't have self-rising flour (as I didn't), use four cups of all-purpose flour, two teaspoons of salt, and two teaspoons of baking powder (in addition to the tablespoon that's already called for).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
239 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parsons, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
I used to bake biscuits for a fast food restaurant and I have some tips for those of you that have never made biscuits or that are struggling to get them right. 1. Never over-work your dough. Mix it only as much as you absolutely have to or it will be tough. 2. Don't add too much flour! flour can be affected greatly by the humidity in the air so what works today may not work tomorrow. Biscuit dough should NOT be easy to work with, it will be pretty sticky. If you add enough flour so that it is easy to work with your biscuits will be dry. 3. Your shortening should be left in small chunks (about the size of a pea) so that your biscuits will be flaky. You can substitute a little butter for part of the shortening to give a richer flavor but your biscuits won't raise as well. 4. Roll your biscuits to at least 1/2 in thickness (or more) to have nice high biscuits. When you cut them push straight down and straight back up. Twisting the cutter will cause your biscuits to raise unevenly. This is a good biscuit recipe, flaky and delicious but I'm still looking for the perfect flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverton, Utah, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Great biscuits - easy to make, fluffy, and delicious! I cut the recipe in half, upped the sugar to 1 Tbsp. and used butter flavored shortening. I let the dough set in the fridge for a couple of hours to ensure the biscuits would rise high. I rolled out the dough on a lightly floured surface, cut out the biscuits and placed them onto parchment paper to bake. Instead of buttermilk, I brushed the tops with melted butter. These smell great and taste even better. What's great is the leftovers are perfect with breakfast the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
Great! The reviewer who wrote the tip about using all-purpose flour instead of self-rising flour was right on! That review said to use 4 cups of all-purpose flour, 2 teaspoons of salt, and 2 teaspoons of baking powder (in addition to the tablespoon that's already called for). That was perfect! I had some guesswork with the temperature though. I have dark, non-stick pans, which means that you lower the oven temperature 25 degrees, so I set it to 375. The biscuits got VERY dark on the bottoms (almost burned), but the insides were still doughy. On the second pan, I used parchment paper on the bottom of the pan, then raised the temperature to what the recipe called for - 400 degrees. Perfect! The bottoms weren't burned, and the dough was fine. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2002
All I can say about these are "WONDERFUL!" I had been looking for a recipe that tasted like old fashioned biscuits and this was it. The only thing I changed was brushing the tops with butter instead of buttermilk. We loved the buttery salty taste on top of the biscuits. These rose beautifully. Looked like the ones on TV. Picture and taste perfect. OH and these freeze great! I tested them. I got to the cut dough part and froze individually on a sheet and put in bag. Then when I wanted a couple I just put directly in oven and baked as instructed. Yum!!!! Thank Sandra for posting this recipe. Sherry from Tennessee
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2001
These biscuits are delicious! I've tried many recipes to find the perfect texture and these are the ones! I used heavy cream instead of buttermilk. I also let them sit on the sheet pan for about a half hour before baking and that caused them to puff a little and rise very nicely when baked. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parlin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2002
These biscuits turned out very tender and flaky, but not very tasty, they needed salt and maybe baking soda. My husband and I thought they tasted more like rolls than biscuits. I don't think I'll make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2002
These biscuits are GREAT! The only complaint I have is how sticky the dough is at the final stage. It was just a little difficult to roll out. I had to consistently sprinkle flour to keep from sticking. Other then that little problem .. they are FANTASTIC! To keep them moist ... they must be placed immediately after cooling in a storage container. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2001
Thank you Saundra, you are right, the biscuits are easy and delicious but you forgot one thing... they are addictive..MMMMMM SO GOOD TOO Everyone enjoyed them, will make them often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2002
I'm trying to remove my rating for this recipe. I never made this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States