Buttermilk Biscuits I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
I don't know what happened, but my dough turned out extremely sticky, so I made drop biscuits instead of using cutters. These took way longer than 15 minutes to bake, and even with melted butter on the tops, I felt as if something were missing. They weren't bad, just not what I had imagined. I'll try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Santiago De Compostela, Galicia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
These biscuits were excellent. I halved the recipe to make 9 biscuits, and they turned out great (though I did have to add a little flour, as the dough was a bit on the wet side). I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
Very good biscuits! My husband really enjoys it when I make these on a Sunday morning. They're light and fluffy once cooked. I found the dough to be a little wet and just dropped it by spoonfuls on the baking sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
never made bisquits from scratch before and this recipe was simple. the biscuits turned out great and were gone quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
I thought these biscuits were fairly good. They definitely needed some more salt. Next time I make them, I will follow what previous reviewers said and brush them with salted butter instead of buttermilk. On the positive, these were very light and fluffy biscuits that were also very easy to make. I halved the recipe and had enough for my husband and I to eat them twice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
These were okay, but a little tougher than I like a biscuit. Maybe I didn't prepare the dough correctly. Thanks, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
Great! The first batch was lacking. I did not have self rising flour,but other than that followed it to the "T". Second time...success! I still didn't have self rising flour, but I used butter flavored shortening, and that made all the difference. Will make again, and again, and again. (if you liked these, try "J.P.'s Big Daddy Biscuits" on this site (yum!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RheyganD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
We've used this recipe repeatedly now with good results. I did not grow up around biscuits, so I am new to making them, and this worked well. I've used all purpose flour w/ salt and baking powder, and self rising. Both yeild decent results. I like to let the dough rise for at least 30 min. in the bowl and then for another 10 in the pan after rolling and cutting, this yeilds much higher, lighter biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
This was an okay buttermilk biscuit recipe, but the dough was way too wet. I decreased the initial amount to 1 3/4 cups; probably 1 1/2 would be even better. I also increased the baking temp to 450 since it took a long time to get them brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
Very easy to make. I followed the advice given in changing over to all purpose flour, and it worked nicely. Next time, I may add a touch of bacon grease to add just a little more flavor. Very good taste and tender texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KWEEKS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmetto, Florida, USA
Living In: Wellington, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States