Buttermilk Biscuits I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
These were great. I made them on the small side and it made a whole cookie sheet. They were very tasty and tender. I substituted 1/2 butter for all of the shortening. I will make these many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Gosse

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Grayson, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
A few tips: Use stick margarine instead of shortening or lard. NEVER use any of those creamy tub margarine spreads ( they contain alot of water and aren't fit for baking purposes ) handle this dough as little as possible. too much gluten makes for a terrible biscuit. I use a cast iron skillet in a 400 deg oven as they need to rise up..not out. let them sit out at room temp about 20 - 30 minutes before baking. they will rise better. Take the time to butter one up as soon as you get it out of the oven. enjoy it before serving the rest of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gadsden, Alabama, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I just finished this recipe and it was great. It took a little longer to brown, but it also made the outside kind of hard but when split apart it was nice and soft. I will try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
Quick and easy recipe! Biscuits had nice texture. Next time I will add a touch of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Found this recipe last year. I'm not a "Southern Cook" and had never had homemade biscuits before this. Now my kids (teens and pre-teens) make these at least monthly, without any adult help. They are perfect with our other new find, sausage gravy. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
I cooked them the alotted time and they looked raw so I doubled it. It din't matter they never rose or seemed done. Wet and dense. Something had to of gone wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Porte, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
The recipe is great! I, however, like to use 1/3 c shortening and 1/3 c butter,to keep the flakiness, but to add a buttery flavor! Wonderful and heavenly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
Wow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aessa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
Sorry but I was really disappointed that they didn't taste good. I may have done something wrong, but I followed the recipe and was bummed by the outcome. It was bland and tasted like I was just eating dough. I'll try again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
I never have self raising flour on hand. that's why I don't like this recipe Recipe's like it. Also I put a little wheat flour in my recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wallingford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States