Buttermilk Biscuits I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
awesome recipe! i have been looking for the pefect biscuit recipe for a while now, something to appease my craving when i can't get to the local cracker barrel. IMPORTANT TIP----if you don't have self rising flour, add the additional 2 tsp baking powder and 2 tsp salt as recommended by some of the other reviewers. i have a feeling this is why some people are not getting the proper results. i did, however, omit the sugar. didn't feel that was necessary since i'm making it savory purposes. turned out great. also, maybe b/c i used a whole milk buttermilk, there was a slight bit more tang than i'm used to. i may just stick w/the plain old low fat buttermilk; i just happened to have the whole milk kind on hand and it is much richer than low fat, i'm always tweaking my recipes. also, for those who don't normally make their own biscuits from scratch biscuits-the dough is extremely sticky. don't be afraid. just dump about a cup of flour on your counter, turn out he dough, sprinkle more flour on top and knead about 10x. make sure you flour your rolling pin and you'll have a perfect, soft dough to cut into. i use a soup cn w/the ends cut out and it made about 12-13 biscuits. i brushed the tops w/butter. i may do that after baking next time instead of before. in my oven, i baked for about 18min. just keep an eye for browning. all in all, quick, easy and delicious. a keeper. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emiko Marcy Covert

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kingston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
These were great. I made them on the small side and it made a whole cookie sheet. They were very tasty and tender. I substituted 1/2 butter for all of the shortening. I will make these many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Gosse

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Grayson, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
A few tips: Use stick margarine instead of shortening or lard. NEVER use any of those creamy tub margarine spreads ( they contain alot of water and aren't fit for baking purposes ) handle this dough as little as possible. too much gluten makes for a terrible biscuit. I use a cast iron skillet in a 400 deg oven as they need to rise up..not out. let them sit out at room temp about 20 - 30 minutes before baking. they will rise better. Take the time to butter one up as soon as you get it out of the oven. enjoy it before serving the rest of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gadsden, Alabama, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I just finished this recipe and it was great. It took a little longer to brown, but it also made the outside kind of hard but when split apart it was nice and soft. I will try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
Quick and easy recipe! Biscuits had nice texture. Next time I will add a touch of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Found this recipe last year. I'm not a "Southern Cook" and had never had homemade biscuits before this. Now my kids (teens and pre-teens) make these at least monthly, without any adult help. They are perfect with our other new find, sausage gravy. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
I cooked them the alotted time and they looked raw so I doubled it. It din't matter they never rose or seemed done. Wet and dense. Something had to of gone wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Porte, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
The recipe is great! I, however, like to use 1/3 c shortening and 1/3 c butter,to keep the flakiness, but to add a buttery flavor! Wonderful and heavenly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
Wow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aessa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
Sorry but I was really disappointed that they didn't taste good. I may have done something wrong, but I followed the recipe and was bummed by the outcome. It was bland and tasted like I was just eating dough. I'll try again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States