Buttermilk Biscuits I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Simple, light, and delicious! I cut the biscuits with a can, which worked great. I forgot to brush the tops with buttermilk, and they still turned out nicely. But don't expect them to get very golden-- they can be totally white but done to perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Li

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
My family can't enough of these. OMG! These are great. I did not have self rising flour so I added extra baking powder and salt. I also brushed the tops with melted butter as soon as they came out of the oven. This recipe will be a staple in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
Very bland--they need salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
I made this with powdered buttermilk, and substituted butter for the shortening. I ended up having to use a little extra flour for some reason. But they turned out wonderfully. I halved the batch and it made 13 - 3" biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakland, Iowa, USA
Living In: Woodbine, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
These were awesome biscuits! Even the dough was tasty! I didn't have the self-rising flour, so used extra baking powder and salt. Very tasty. My husband loved them too! Next time, I will leave out about half the sugar, and flour the counter better. The dough was insanely sticky, so I ended up just using my hands. Very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thekitchenlab

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
Don't make this recipe if you're just starting a diet. These are wonderful! And thanks to the others who reviewed this recipe and offered tips about the self rising flour and freezing. Great info and idea. Also, if you don't have buttermilk (which I never do), place a Tablespoon of white vinegar or lemon juice in a liquid measuring cup, add enough milk to bring the liquid up to the one-cup line and let stand for five minutes. I like to mix onion and garlic powder with butter and brush the tops for a little extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
My family loved these biscuits. I am not great with rolls, so I was a bit nervous. But, I followed the other user's comments about kneading the dough 10 times with flour on the counter and flour on the top, and on the rolling pin. It worked beautifully. Also, remember just to mix until moistened. I wish I could find a roll recipe this easy because mine NEVER rise! Thanks for sharing your recipe and thank to you the other reviewers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
These came out great. Made them for a brunch with the girls and they loved them! They were waiting for them to come out of the oven. The only con for this item is that I used quite a bit of flour when rolling out the dough. It was pretty sticky until I loaded it with flour while kneading. Otherwise, they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
These biscuits were great! I live in China right now and don't have buttermilk available. I used a powdered buttermilk as a substitute. The dough was really wet and sticky, and I couldn't roll it out. So I just dropped them on the cookie sheet instead of rolling out the dough and cutting the biscuits. Maybe the dough was different due to my substitution but they still baked great and tasted wonderful! I'll use this one again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
awesome recipe! i have been looking for the pefect biscuit recipe for a while now, something to appease my craving when i can't get to the local cracker barrel. IMPORTANT TIP----if you don't have self rising flour, add the additional 2 tsp baking powder and 2 tsp salt as recommended by some of the other reviewers. i have a feeling this is why some people are not getting the proper results. i did, however, omit the sugar. didn't feel that was necessary since i'm making it savory purposes. turned out great. also, maybe b/c i used a whole milk buttermilk, there was a slight bit more tang than i'm used to. i may just stick w/the plain old low fat buttermilk; i just happened to have the whole milk kind on hand and it is much richer than low fat, i'm always tweaking my recipes. also, for those who don't normally make their own biscuits from scratch biscuits-the dough is extremely sticky. don't be afraid. just dump about a cup of flour on your counter, turn out he dough, sprinkle more flour on top and knead about 10x. make sure you flour your rolling pin and you'll have a perfect, soft dough to cut into. i use a soup cn w/the ends cut out and it made about 12-13 biscuits. i brushed the tops w/butter. i may do that after baking next time instead of before. in my oven, i baked for about 18min. just keep an eye for browning. all in all, quick, easy and delicious. a keeper. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buffyangel4ever

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kingston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States