Buttermilk Biscuits I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
I used to bake biscuits for a fast food restaurant and I have some tips for those of you that have never made biscuits or that are struggling to get them right. 1. Never over-work your dough. Mix it only as much as you absolutely have to or it will be tough. 2. Don't add too much flour! flour can be affected greatly by the humidity in the air so what works today may not work tomorrow. Biscuit dough should NOT be easy to work with, it will be pretty sticky. If you add enough flour so that it is easy to work with your biscuits will be dry. 3. Your shortening should be left in small chunks (about the size of a pea) so that your biscuits will be flaky. You can substitute a little butter for part of the shortening to give a richer flavor but your biscuits won't raise as well. 4. Roll your biscuits to at least 1/2 in thickness (or more) to have nice high biscuits. When you cut them push straight down and straight back up. Twisting the cutter will cause your biscuits to raise unevenly. This is a good biscuit recipe, flaky and delicious but I'm still looking for the perfect flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverton, Utah, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
We love these biscuits. I particularly love that I can bake 1/2 the recipe for dinner and freeze the other 1/2 for baking later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
This was a nightmare. The dough was very sticky. In order to roll it out, I had to add lots of flour to the sheet, and it still stuck like crazy. The taste was nothing spectacular, the texture was dense, not light & fluffy. Surely not a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
These biscuits are pretty good but I wish that they were a bit drier in texture. My non-biscuit liking son loves these though and that is saying alot! I used all-purpose flour rather than self-rising so I did what one of the previous posters suggested by adding extra baking powder and salt to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrandyLogan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
these have a great taste but do not turn out looking that great. that is why i gave it 4 stars and not 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
These biscuits were great. Light and fluffy and perfect with fried chicken. I didn't change a thing. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dlish

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
Kind of powdery, but delicous all the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
mine turned out flat and rather tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy9216

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This is perfect for me! I love homemade bread, and occasionally whip out the breadmaker, but I'm not much on making it from scratch. I don't have the patience for rising, punching, rolling, punching, rising...This was quick, easy, and they are so light and fluffy. DELICIOUS. It makes homemade bread a possibility for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ocean View, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
These were really easy and delicious. I don't keep self-rising flour around so I made my own (4 cups flour, 2 tsp. salt, 2 Tbsp. baking powder) then followed the directions, though I didn't brush them with buttermilk. The were terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States